Donovan Try For The Sun: The Journey of Donovan (3-CD+DVD)

Try For The Sun: The Journey of Donovan (3-CD+DVD)
20 ratings
Price: $53.98
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $6 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  E44V
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Catch The Wind (Single Version)
  • 2.Josie
  • 3.Co'dine (Demo)
  • 4.Colours
  • 5.Universal Soldier
  • 6.Sunny Goodge Street
  • 7.Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)
  • 8.Sunshine Superman (Extended Version)
  • 9.The Trip (Single Version)
  • 10.Legend Of A Girl Child Linda
  • 11.Three King Fishers
  • 12.Season Of The Witch
  • 13.Guinevere
  • 14.The Fat Angel
  • 15.Mellow Yellow
  • 16.Sand And Foam
  • 17.Young Girl Blues
  • 18.Museum
  • 19.Hampstead Incident
  • 20.Sunny South Kensington

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Epistle To Dippy
  • 2.Preachin' Love
  • 3.There Is A Mountain
  • 4.Wear Your Love Like Heaven
  • 5.Oh Gosh
  • 6.Isle Of Islay
  • 7.Epistle To Derroll (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 8.To Try For The Sun (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 9.Someone's Singing (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 10.The Tinker And The Crab (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 11.Jennifer Juniper
  • 12.Poor Cow (From the motion picture "Poor Cow")
  • 13.Hurdy Gurdy Man
  • 14.Get Thy Bearings
  • 15.Lalena
  • 16.Barabajagal (Love Is Hot)(with the Jeff Beck Group)
  • 17.Lord Of The Reedy River (Previously Unreleased)
  • 18.Moon In Capricorn (Previously Unreleased)
  • 19.To Susan On The West Coast Waiting
  • 20.Atlantis

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Celia Of The Seals
  • 2.The Song Of The Wandering Aengus
  • 3.The Ferryman's Daughter (Previously Unreleased)
  • 4.She Moved Through The Fair (Previously Unreleased)
  • 5.The Traveling People (Previously Unreleased)
  • 6.Riki Tiki Tavi
  • 7.Clara Clairvoyant
  • 8.Young And Growing (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 9.Keep On Truckin' (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 10.Stealin' (Live)(Previously Unreleased)
  • 11.I Like You
  • 12.Maria Magenta
  • 13.A Working Man (Live)(Previously Unreleased in USA)
  • 14.Tinker Tune (Live)(Previously Unreleased in USA)
  • 15.Sailing Homeward
  • 16.Your Broken Heart
  • 17.Dark-Eyed Blue Jean Angel
  • 18.Please Don't Bend
  • 19.Love Floats
  • 20.Happiness Runs (2004 Version)(Previously Unreleased)

Product Description:

Includes bonus DVD.
Personnel: Donovan (vocals, guitar).
Audio Mixer: Richard King .
Liner Note Author: Donovan Leitch, Jr.
Recording information: Anaheim Convention Center, CA (1964-2004); J.F.K. Center (1964-2004).
Authors: Graham Nash; Nancy Wilson ; James Mercer; John Mellencamp; Al Kooper; Alice Cooper; Mary Chapin Carpenter; Rickie Lee Jones; Stephen King ; Suzi Quatro; Tim DeLaughter; Warren Haynes; Joan Baez; Billy Corgan.
Photographers: Chris ODell; David Gahr; Bob Bayer; Chris Walter; Barry Feinstein; Mike Zarro; Kevin Schwartz; David Reid.
Arranger: Donovan Leitch, Jr.
Epic/Legacy's 2005 box set TRY FOR THE SUN: THE JOURNEY OF DONOVAN is the most lovingly assembled and comprehensive survey of the artist's work to date. A four-disc package (including a DVD of a previously unreleased documentary), TRY FOR THE SUN charts the entire career of the Scottish troubadour, from his rootsy, folky beginnings to his wide-eyed psychedelic period and his various experiments with island rhythms, blues, and Renaissance-style minstrel songs.
The set's 60 tracks encompass not only Donovan's essential recordings, but a number of rare and previously unreleased tracks as well. Taken together, the set gives a complete picture of this quintessential '60s figure, and the lavish packaging (the set comes in a purple velvet case), lengthy booklet, and pristinely remastered sound are icing on the cake. Casual listeners may want to go with one of the more manageable collections, but for the hardcore Donovan fan there is no worthier purchase.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Donovan

Product Info

  • UPC: 827969391921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.94/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)