Johnny "Guitar" Watson Funk Anthology (2-CD)

Funk Anthology (2-CD)
16 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $17.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.55 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.43 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32QJ4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Shout Factory

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Ain't That A Bitch
  • Buy for $1.292.Superman Lover
  • Buy for $1.293.I Need It
  • Buy for $1.294.A Real Mother For Ya
  • Buy for $1.295.I Want To Ta-Ta You Baby
  • Buy for $1.296.Baby's In Love With The Radio (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.297.Tarzan
  • Buy for $1.298.Funk Beyond The Call Of Duty
  • Buy for $1.299.It's About The Dollar Bill
  • Buy for $1.2910.Love That Will Not Die
  • Buy for $1.2911.I'm Gonna Get You Baby
  • Buy for $1.2912.ET (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2913.Miss Frisco (Queen Of The Disco)
  • Buy for $1.2914.You Can Stay But The Noise Must Go
  • Buy for $1.2915.Feel The Spirit Of My Guitar (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2916.Gangster Of Love

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Don't Be What U C (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.292.What The Hell Is This?
  • Buy for $1.293.I Don't Want To Be President
  • Buy for $1.294.Strung Out
  • Buy for $1.295.Cop & Blow
  • Buy for $1.296.Booty Ooty
  • Buy for $1.297.Lone Ranger
  • Buy for $1.298.Telephone Bill
  • Buy for $1.299.Love Jones
  • Buy for $1.2910.Before I Let You Go (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Voodoo What You Do
  • Buy for $1.2912.Come And Dance With Me
  • Buy for $1.2913.Ain't Nobody's Business (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2914.Bow Wow
  • Buy for $1.2915.Johnny G. Is Back

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny "Guitar" Watson (vocals, various instruments, guitar, keyboards); Emery Thomas (whistle, drums, tambourine, bells, siren, background vocals); Paul Dunmall, Albert Wing, Knud Jensen, Billy Hales, Charles Green (saxophone); Pete Martin, Walt Fowler , Joe Cambell (trumpet); Steve Baxter, Tommy Robertson (trombone); Oji Pierce (keyboards, programming); Deon Estus (bass guitar); James Johnson, Rudy Copeland, Darcus Thomas, Marci Thomas, Randie Redman (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: David Ritz; Virginia "Ginny G" Watson.
Recording information: 1976-1994.
Johnny "Guitar" Watson was renowned as a bluesman during the 1950s and '60s, but in the '70s the vocalist/multi-instrumentalist turned his talents to funk. As the cover of 2005's FUNK ANTHOLOGY playfully illustrates, the Texas-born performer was essentially a one-man band, indulging in self-penned, fun-loving, groove-based tunes. Focusing on Watson's funkiest, wackiest material, this well-selected two-disc collection spans 1976 to '94, with most tracks dating back to disco's heyday in the late '70s and early '80s.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnny "Guitar" Watson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,197
  • UPC: 826663177121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)