The Delfonics The Delfonics / Tell Me This Is a Dream

The Delfonics / Tell Me This Is a Dream
6 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32R63
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: December 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Kent Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.101
4 stars out of 5 -- "The Hart brothers, Wilbert and William, with writer and producer Thom Bell, sculpted intricate symphonic soul..."


  • 1.Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
  • 2.Funny Feeling
  • 3.When You Get Right Down To It
  • 4.Baby I Love You
  • 5.Delfonics Theme (How Could You)
  • 6.Trying To Make A Fool Of Me
  • 7.Down Is Up
  • 8.Up Is Down
  • 9.Over & Over
  • 10.Think About Me
  • 11.I Gave To You
  • 12.Hey Love
  • 13.I'm A Man
  • 14.Too Late
  • 15.Love You Til You Die
  • 16.Looking For A Girl
  • 17.Walk Right Up To The Sun
  • 18.Round & Round
  • 19.Baby I Miss You
  • 20.Delfonics Theme (How Could You) Vocal Version
  • 21.Tell Me This Is A Dream

Product Description:

The Delfonics' fourth and fifth albums, 1970's The Delfonics and 1972's Tell Me This Is a Dream, are combined onto one CD on this reissue with the addition of historical liner notes. Since many of these tracks were originally issued on singles, and since the best of those singles are on best-of compilations, this is really primarily for the devoted Delfonics fan/soul collector. Of course it's good to have for the historic record in an attractive package, and is generally good Philadelphia soul, though with the filler tracks that were customary on most soul LPs of the time. The Delfonics is the considerably superior of the pair, including as it does the smash hit "Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)," as well as the three subsequent high-charting R&B singles "When You Get Right Down to It," "Trying to Make a Fool of Me," and "Over and Over." Actually, eight of its ten tracks had previously seen use as A-sides and B-sides, and of the two other tunes, the instrumental "Delfonics Theme (How Could You)" is certainly padding considering its placement on an LP by a soul vocal group. Overall, however, it's the Delfonics reaching their peak, combining luscious harmonies and state-of-the-art Philly soul production not only on the hits, but also on the relatively obscure 1969 45 "Funny Feeling" and the uncharacteristically uptempo "Down Is Up, Up Is Down." Unfortunately, Tell Me This Is a Dream is a letdown in comparison, probably due in no small measure to the absence of Thom Bell, who had been instrumental to the success of the material on The Delfonics as both songwriter and arranger. It still includes the midsize soul hits "Walk Right Up to the Sun" and "Tell Me This Is a Dream," but the songs on the whole are relatively average. But if you can't get enough of that early-'70s Philly soul sound, the production still includes some essential elements of that style, as well as a vocal version of "Delfonics Theme (How Could You)." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Delfonics

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,672
  • UPC: 029667230926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)