Peter LaFarge Song of the Cowboys / Iron Mountain & Other Songs

Song of the Cowboys / Iron Mountain & Other Songs
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $17.69
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $7.30 (29% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  357FE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Whoopee Ti Yi Yo
  • 2.The Chisholm Trail / Trail To Mexico
  • 3.Sirey Peaks
  • 4.Lavender Cowboy
  • 5.I've Got No Use For the Women
  • 6.I Ride Old Paint
  • 7.The Cowboy's Lament
  • 8.Yavipii Pete
  • 9.When the Work's All Done This Fall
  • 10.Cowboy's Dream
  • 11.The Black Stallion
  • 12.Walin' John
  • 13.Strawberry Roan
  • 14.The Rodeo Hand
  • 15.Cattle Calls
  • 16.Stumbling
  • 17.Pop Reed
  • 18.Pony Called Nell
  • 19.Marijuana Blues
  • 20.Snow Bird Blues
  • 21.Hungry Blues
  • 22.Avril Blues
  • 23.Santa Fe
  • 24.Alaska, 49th State
  • 25.Iron Mountain
  • 26.Falling Stars
  • 27.Abraham Lincoln
  • 28.Cisco Houston

Product Description:

Includes a 48-page booklet with liner notes and lyrics.
These two albums, originally released by Folkways, fit well together as collections of cowboy songs and more personal songs of the West. Unfortunately, Songs of the Cowboys, which makes up the majority of the material here, isn't nearly as interesting as his two albums devoted to Native American-focused material, As Long as the Grass Shall Grow or On the Warpath (both issued together on a separate CD already). The familiarity of the songs (apart from notable exceptions like "Sirey Peaks") makes the stuff less "special," and his attempt to create an authentic sound runs into the reality that we are hearing it today -- we'd never "hear" it the same way as audiences, say, around 1920, before the advent of attempts to make cowboy songs into popular music. La Farge makes no concessions to popular music in his singing, accompanied by nothing but his own guitar, and these could almost pass for authentic field recordings of the late '20s. The Iron Mountain songs are much more personal (including the biographical title track) and are also more interesting, most notably due to the inclusion of songs such as the very funny "Marijuana Blues," as well as several other, similar numbers ("Snowbird Blues") that show off other sides of La Farge's playing and singing, and allow him to stretch out in ways unique to his recording career. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Peter LaFarge

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127156273
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)