New Lost City Ramblers 50 Years: Where Do You Come from, Where Do You Go? (3-CD Box Set)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
13 copies available
List Price: $39.98
Your Price: $35.98
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  SFW 740180

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 21, 2009
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Colored Aristocracy
  • 2.Hopalong Peter
  • 3.Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  • 4.When First Unto This Country
  • 5.Sales Tax on the Women
  • 6.Rabbit Chase
  • 7.Leaving Home
  • 8.How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live?
  • 9.Franklin D. Roosevelt's Back Again
  • 10.I Truly Understand You Love Another Man
  • 11.The Old Fish Song
  • 12.The Battleship of Maine
  • 13.No Depression in Heaven
  • 14.Dallas Rag
  • 15.Bill Morgan and His Gal
  • 16.Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss
  • 17.The Lady of Carlisle
  • 18.Brown's Ferry Blues
  • 19.My Long Journey Home
  • 20.Talking Hard Luck
  • 21.The Teetotals
  • 22.Sal Got a Meatskin
  • 23.Railroad Blues
  • 24.On Some Foggy Mountain Top
  • 25.My Sweet Farm Girl
  • 26.Crow Black Chicken

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.John Brown's Dream
  • 2.Riding on That Train
  • 3.The Titanic
  • 4.Don't Get Trouble in Your Mind
  • 5.Cowboy Waltz
  • 6.Shut Up in the Mines of Coal Creek
  • 7.Private John Q
  • 8.Old Johnny Bucker Wouldn't Do
  • 9.I've Always Been a Rambler
  • 10.Automobile Trip Through Alabama
  • 11.Who Killed Poor Robin?
  • 12.My Wife Died on Saturday Night
  • 13.Little Satchel
  • 14.Black Bottom Strut
  • 15.The Cat's Got the Measles Dog's Got the Whooping Cough
  • 16.Dear Okie
  • 17.Smoketown Strut
  • 18.The Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake
  • 19.Fishing Creek Blues
  • 20.'31 Depression Blues
  • 21.Black Jack Daisy
  • 22.Victory Rag
  • 23.The Little Carpenter
  • 24.On Our Turpentine Farm
  • 25.Parlez-Nous ? Boire
  • 26.Valse du Bambocheur
  • 27.Old Joe Bone

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Colored Aristocracy - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Cluck Old Hen
  • 3.Young Emily
  • 4.Going Down the River
  • 5.Billy Grimes the Rover
  • 6.Pretty Little Miss
  • 7.Dark and Stormy Weather
  • 8.Sioux Indians
  • 9.Moonshiner
  • 10.Long Lonesome Road
  • 11.Cotton Eyed Joe
  • 12.New White House Blues
  • 13.Milwaukee Blues
  • 14.Poor Old Dirt Farmer
  • 15.Cady Hill - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.I Belong to the Band
  • 17.Freight Train
  • 18.I'm Leaving You
  • 19.Walking Boss - (previously unreleased)
  • 20.Mother's Advice - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Hills of Mexico
  • 22.Galax Rag - (previously unreleased)
  • 23.Say Old Man, Can You Play a Fiddle? - (previously unreleased)
  • 24.Awake, Awake
  • 25.Bowling Green - (previously unreleased)
  • 26.Madeleine
  • 27.Fishing Creek Blues
  • 28.Sally in the Garden

Product Description:

Composer: Tracy Schwarz.
Personnel: Mike Seeger (vocals, tenor, guitar, banjo, dulcimer, autoharp, mandolin, fiddle, harmonica); Tom Paley (vocals, tenor, guitar, banjo, autoharp, mandolin); Tracy Schwarz (vocals, tenor, guitar, banjo, fiddle, spoons); John Cohen (vocals, bass voice, guitar, banjo, claw hammer banjo, mandolin, fiddle, triangle); Rev. Gary Davis, Rodney Balfa, Sara Carter (vocals, guitar); Clarence Ashley, Dock Boggs, Cynthia May Carver, Roscoe Holcomb (vocals, banjo); Dillard Chandler, Fields Ward, Dellie Norton (vocals); Tony Balfa, Ron Tinkler, Elizabeth Cotten, Eric Thompson, Rensel Rich, Jody Stecher, Mother Maybelle Carter, Sam McGee (guitar); Kirk McGee, Mac Benford, Wade Ward (banjo); Holly Tannen (dulcimer); Penny Seeger, Kilby Snow (autoharp); Dave Ricker, Elmer Rich (mandolin); Dewey Balfa, Eck Robertson, Crockett Ward, Sanford Rich, Fiddlin' Arthur Smith & His Dixieliners, Will Spires, Harry Rich, Sue Draheim (fiddle); Allison Young (accordion); Weston Bergeaux (drums); Larry Hanks (Jew's harp).
Audio Remasterers: Matt Walters; Malcolm Addey; Matt Walters; Mike Seeger.
Liner Note Author: Jon Pankake.
Photographer: Chris Strachwitz.
Arrangers: Clarence Ashley; Fred Cockerham; Tommy Jarrell.
The New Lost City Ramblers were instrumental in bridging the gap between the young urban folk musicians of the early '60s, who embraced the form and feel of old-time American music, and the last of the great rural singers and players who had actually grown up with the music in its original incarnation. This wonderful set combines two earlier collections, THE EARLY YEARS: 1958-1962 (featuring the original trio) and OUT STANDING IN THEIR FIELD: VOLUME II: 1963-1973 (featuring the later version of the group with Schwarz), with a third disc called WHERE DO YOU COME FROM? WHERE DO YOU GO?, which presents some of the field recordings NLCR did of the musicians that inspired them. The end result is a well-rounded portrait of an important and vital string band who were always careful to stay true to the intent and execution of the precious musical resource they drew from, never doing any song a disservice and always working to create a seamless bridge between the old and the re-imagined.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for New Lost City Ramblers

Product Info:

  • UPC: 093074018026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items