Judy Collins Folk Songs

Folk Songs
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FB 73904
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Rhino Flashback


  • 1.Both Sides Now
  • 2.Alabatross
  • 3.Cook With Honey
  • 4.Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  • 5.Send In The Clowns
  • 6.So Early, Early In The Spring
  • 7.Someday Soon
  • 8.Suzanne
  • 9.Turn!Turn!Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)
  • 10.Who Knows Where The Time Goes

Product Description:

Personnel: Judy Collins (vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Bob Fisher .
To the extent that Judy Collins' 23-year tenure at Elektra Records (1961-1984) could be summarized successfully on a ten-track budget compilation such as this, the selections would have to combine her relatively infrequent hit singles with album tracks that became a part of her permanent repertoire and were associated with her. Her Top Ten cover of Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now" (which helped make Mitchell a star) is an obvious inclusion, as is her Top 20 version of Stephen Sondheim's "Send in the Clowns" from the Broadway musical A Little Night Music (which made it the most popular composition of Sondheim's career and a Grammy Song of the Year). But equally necessary is Collins' cover of Leonard Cohen's "Suzanne," which appeared on her In My Life album in 1966, paving the way for Cohen's emergence as a singer/songwriter with Songs of Leonard Cohen a year later. Beyond such required choices, fans might quibble. If, for instance, there was room for only one of Collins' own compositions, why "Albatross" instead of, say, "My Father" or "Since You Asked"? And given the longevity of Collins' cover of Mitchell's "Chelsea Morning," didn't it deserve to make the cut? But there is one missing track that is more than a quibble. Collections like this always seem to leave out one major hit. It is such a common flaw that it can only be deliberate. You have to figure there's a memo at every record label that says, don't put all the hits on a really cheap compilation, or people will have no reason to buy a more expensive hits album. In this case, that missing track is "Amazing Grace," Collins' other Top 20 hit. It must have been left off on purpose. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Judy Collins

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 49,585
  • UPC: 081227390426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)