Indigenous Indigenous

52 ratings
Price: $6.29
List Price: $6.99
You Save: $0.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34HW9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - p.112
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]heir impressive self-titled album is a showcase for frontman Mato Nanji's honey-dripping vocals and the sort of wonderfully fluid guitar phrasings not heard since the late Stevie Ray Vaughan."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.92
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he band give the songs the rattle of a live recording and close-miked intimacy....A superb record."


  • 1.Cmon Suzie
  • 2.You Turn My World Around
  • 3.What You Do To Me
  • 4.Hold On
  • 5.Im Still Here
  • 6.Be Right There
  • 7.Movin On
  • 8.Want You To Say
  • 9.Shame, Shame, Shame
  • 10.Take Some Time
  • 11.Where Are You
  • 12.I Wonder
  • 13.Instrumental

Product Description:

Indigenous: Mato (vocals, guitar); Pte (bass, background vocals); Horse (percussion, background vocals); Wanbdi (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Jesse Davey (guitar, percussion).
For its major-label debut, the Native American quartet keeps its sound bulked up but stripped down. They haven't transcended their obvious Hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughan-isms, although there are also indications of Robin Trower and '70s power trio blues-rock outfits such as Cactus here as well. Guitarist/vocalist Mato Nanji stays entrenched in the spotlight, with his bass-playing brother, drumming sister, and a practically inaudible cousin on percussion contributing anonymous support. Nanji projects a powerful presence throughout; his dusky vocals are emotional without bombast and his fluid guitar jumps out of the murky mix like a lighthouse through the fog. Production by the British Davey Brothers (the Hoax) plays a substantial role, as they create a thick sonic soup, providing the band with a gutsy wall of sound. The basic tracks were cut live, adding a spark to the performances -- especially the slow blues of "I Wonder" that catches a particularly hot moment -- but some of these songs are not only similar to each other, they are reminiscent of standard blues-rockers in the catalogs of the band's obvious influences. So even though "Take Some Time" is an original, its unhurried shuffle sounds like any of a dozen songs in the Stevie Ray Vaughan catalog. A sledgehammer version of Jimmy Reed's "Shame Shame Shame" is the album's only official cover, though. As the disc progresses, the production and approach become repetitious, and the quality of the material declines. Still, for those who want to turn the volume up to 11, Indigenous competently fills the blues-rock bill. ~ Hal Horowitz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 52 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Indigenous

Product Info

  • UPC: 886975010929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)