Eric Clapton Slowhand

183 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34SFR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 2/96, p.104
3 Stars - Good - "...slightly more upbeat...[raised] Clapton's mainstream profile via 'Cocaine,' 'Wonderful Tonight,' and 'Lay Down Sally'..."


  • 1.Cocaine
  • 2.Wonderful Tonight
  • 3.Lay Down Sally
  • 4.Next Time You See Her
  • 5.We're All The Way
  • 6.The Core
  • 7.May You Never
  • 8.Mean Old Frisco
  • 9.Peaches And Diesel

Product Description:

Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Eric Clapton; Marcy Levy, Yvonne Elliman (vocals, background vocals); Jamie Oldaker, James Oldaker (drums, percussion); George Terry (guitar); Mel Collins (saxophone, horns); Dick Sims (keyboards); Carl Radle (bass guitar).
Recording information: Olympic Studios, London, England (05/1977).
Editors: Eric Clapton; Patti Clapton.
Photographers: Watalu Asanuma; Andy Seymour.
SLOWHAND was the album which defined the new cool of Eric Clapton, a sultry, laid-back mix of rock and blues, with a heavy dose of country and southwestern regional sounds to leaven the blend. After LAYLA, SLOWHAND was probably Clapton's most popular, fully realized solo disc.
The opening number was by J.J. Cale, whose "After Midnight" had been one of the real joys of the guitarist's first solo excursion, ERIC CLAPTON. "Cocaine," with its slow grinding beat, menacing melodic vamp and one-step from perdition lyrics, was the toughest, most rocking number on SLOWHAND, and a major radio hit from the outset.
A couple of vocal duets with countryish harmonies set the tone for the rest of SLOWHAND. "Lay Down Sally" was a funky, chicken-fried bit of boogie with a taut, melodic aside from Clapton's twangy Stratocaster, while Don Williams' sweet, soulful "We're All The Way" provided a low-key vehicle for Clapton's tender vocal exchanges with Marcy Levy, as his understated arpeggios toll away in the background.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 183 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Eric Clapton

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 112,832
  • UPC: 731453182523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)