No Doubt Return of Saturn

Return of Saturn
456 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34SDY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Interscope Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/4/01, p.114
Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 50 Albums of 2000".
Rolling Stone - 4/27/00, pp.65-6
4 stars out of 5 - "...A rare achievement: a superstar follow-up that not only betters its predecessor but also radically departs from it....a collection of uniformly well-crafted, vigorously performed tunes that run the gamut from grungy to giddy, playful to pensive..."
Entertainment Weekly - 4/14/00, pp.71-2
"...[They] still bounce around on the kind of perky, reggae-inflicted trampolines that can give you motion sickness....concentrating on smoother, layered mid-tempo ballads as creamily textured as extra-thick napoleon pastries..." - Rating: B
Q - 5/00, p.116
3 stars out of 5 - "...A clutch of well-crafted songs....Pale and sometimes interesting."
CMJ - 4/24/00, p.24
"...Once again, Stefani sits at the helm....Success hasn't freed [her] from her heartache, incessant yearning or self-analysis, but it has given the band the confidence to bring their new wave tendencies to the forefront..."
Vibe - 5/00, p.176
"...Their aggro-ska construct has real legs, thanks to the group's strong songwriting chops....Stefani continues to play her compelling linchpin role...taking the familiar tropes of classic girlie pop, heartbreak, bad-boy attraction, and the matrimonial urge and turns them upside down..."
Melody Maker - 4/11/00, p.48
4 stars out of 5 - "...A great pop album. In a strange incidence of role-reversal, SATURN runs rings around most of its rivals."


  • Buy for $1.291.Ex-Girlfriend
  • Buy for $1.292.Simple Kind Of Life
  • Buy for $1.293.Bathwater
  • Buy for $1.294.Six Feet Under
  • Buy for $1.295.Magic's In The Makeup
  • Buy for $1.296.Artificial Sweetener
  • Buy for $1.297.Marry Me
  • Buy for $1.298.New
  • Buy for $1.299.Too Late
  • Buy for $1.2910.Comforting Lie
  • Buy for $1.2911.Suspension Without Suspense
  • Buy for $1.2912.Staring Problem
  • Buy for $1.2913.Home Now
  • 14.Dark Blue

Product Description:

No Doubt: Gwen Stefani (vocals); Tom Dumont (guitar); Tony Kanal (bass); Adrian Young (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Stephen Bradley (trumpet); Gabrial McNair (trombone, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Mike Garson (piano); Theo "Hound Dog" Mondle (turntables); Bryan Carrigan, Michael Boddicker (programming).
Producers: Glen Ballard, Jerry Harrison, No Doubt, Matthew Wilder.
Engineers: Karl Derfler, Alain Johannes, Thom Panunzio.
Recorded at Royaltone, NRG, Hang Suite and Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, California; Aerowave, Encino, California.
RETURN OF SATURN was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Rock Album.
Personnel: Gwen Stefani (vocals); Tom Dumont (guitar); Stephen Bradley (trumpet, trombone, keyboards); Gabrial McNair (trombone, piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Mike Garson (piano); Tony Kanal (bass guitar); Adrian Young (drums, percussion); Theo Mondle (tabla).
Audio Mixers: Jack Joseph Puig; Jack Joseph.
Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA; Aerowave, Encino, CA; Hang Suite, Hollywood, CA; NRG, Hollywood, CA; NRG, North Hollywood, CA; Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, CA; Royaltone, North Hollywood, CA.
Photographers: Joe-Mama Nitzberg; David LaChapelle.
Pop-ska rockers No Doubt make their long-awaited return with the follow-up to the hugely successful TRAGIC KINGDOM. The band's fiery dynamic remains intact as vocalist Gwen Stefani's penchant for emotionally charged tales of heartbreak drive the single "Ex-Girlfriend," "Simple Kind Of Life" and "Bath Water." In "The Magic's In The Makeup," Stefani's lyrics speak of yearning to be appreciated beyond surface beauty for who she really is while the band reaches for a thicker sound and more complex arrangements.
Illusions and metaphors exploring the darker side of love set the tone of "Artificial Sweetener." "Marry Me" uses a melodic, staccato bass line to drive the reggae-tinged tale of the insecurities and doubts surrounding commitment. In "New" Stefani metaphorically compares fresh batteries to the optimism and excitement of a new relationship. "Too Late" is an atmospheric, bittersweet power ballad while "Staring Problem" throttles with the quirky punk energy that long-time fans will embrace. With two years in the making, RETURN OF SATURN finds No Doubt a tighter, more mature unit, focused more on pop songs and production and leaning slightly away from the ska/horn dominated sound of their past.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 456 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for No Doubt

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 119,640
  • UPC: 606949044121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)