Tom Petty Pack Up The Plantation-Live

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Pack Up The Plantation-Live
10% OFF
Rating 4.2
25 ratings
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UNI 328021

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1986
  • Label: MCA


  • 1.So You Want To Be A Rock 'N Roll Star
  • 2.Needles & Pins
  • 3.The Waiting
  • 4.Breakdown
  • 5.American Girl
  • 6.It Ain't Nothin' To Me
  • 7.Insider
  • 8.Rockin' Around (With You)
  • 9.Refugee
  • 10.Southern Accents
  • 11.Rebels
  • 12.Don't Bring Me Down
  • 13.Shout
  • 14.Stories We Could Tell

Product Description:

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers: Tom Petty (vocals, acoustic, electric, 6- & 12-string guitars); Mike Campbell (electric, 12-string, lap steel & slide guitars); Howie Epstein (mandolin, bass, background vocals); Benmont Tench (keyboards, background vocals); Stan Lynch (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Stevie Nicks (vocals); Bobby Valentino (violin); Jimmy Zavala (harmonica, saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet, flugelhorn); Nick Lane (trombone, euphonium); Ron Blair (bass); Pat Peterson, Carroll Sue Hill (percussion, background vocals); Phil Jones (percussion).
Recorded live at various locations during Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers' 1985 tour.
Personnel: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Stan Lynch (vocals, keyboards, drums); Benmont Tench (vocals, keyboards); Pat Peterson, Carroll Sue Hill (vocals, percussion, background vocals); Stevie Nicks (vocals); Mike Campbell (guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Howie Epstein (mandolin); Bobby Valentino (violin); Jimmy Zavola, Jimmy "Z" Zavala (harmonica, saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet, flugelhorn, horns); Nick Lane (trombone, euphonium, horns); Phil Jones (percussion).
Recording information: Forum, LA, CA; Hammersmith Odeon, London, England; Irvine Meadows Amphitheater, Irvine, CA; Paradise Club, Boston, MA; Richfield Coliseum, Richfield, OH; Wiltern Theater, LA, CA.
Captured in concert in their mid-'80s "eclectic" phase, backed by horns and female vocalists, Petty and the Heartbreakers get to show more sides of their personality than the confines of a studio recording generally permit. That's most obvious in the preponderance of spirited cover tunes that lay the band's roots squarely on their collective sleeve. Listening to their version of the Byrds' "So You Want to be a Rock 'n' Roll Star" makes it plain where Petty got his drawling vocal style and penchant for ringing guitars, just as a rendition of "Shout" lays bare the band's soul influences. Atmospheric jamming vehicles like "Breakdown" also benefit greatly from the live circumstances, and on early tunes like "American Girl," Petty and company prove that they can still blaze through a heartland rocker like no one else.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tom Petty

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 53,365
  • UPC: 076732802120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

Top ranking CD: