Donna Summer The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (2-CD)

The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (2-CD)
88 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34RVX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Utv Records


  • 1.Love To Love You Baby
  • 2.Could It Be Magic
  • 3.I Feel Love
  • 4.I Love You
  • 5.Last Dance
  • 6.MacArthur Park
  • 7.Heaven Knows
  • 8.Hot Stuff
  • 9.Bad Girls
  • 10.Dim All The Lights
  • 11.No More Tears (Enough Is Enough)
  • 12.On The Radio
  • 13.The Wanderer
  • 14.Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger)
  • 15.State Of Independence
  • 16.She Works Hard For The Money
  • 17.This Time I Know It's For Real
  • 18.I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiro)
  • 19.That's The Way
  • 20.Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love)

Product Description:

Initial pressings of THE JOURNEY included a bonus CD featuring 12" remixes.
Personnel: Donna Summer, Barbara Streisand, Brooklyn Dreams (vocals); Giorgio Moroder, Vangelis (programming).
Producers include: Pete Belotte, Giorgio Moroder, Gary Klein, Quincy Jones, Michael Omartian.
Compilation producer: Bill Levenson.
Includes liner notes by Brian Chin.
As one of the few performers from the disco era to have a career beyond one-hit wonder status, Donna Summer has continued forward on her creative path well into the 1990s, necessitating the release of the two-disc THE JOURNEY: THE VERY BEST OF DONNA SUMMER. Summer neophytes will get their share of this diva's classic '70s fare including soft-core anthems ("Love to Love You Baby"), streetwalker tributes ("Bad Girls"), erstwhile Jimmy Webb covers ("Macarthur Park") and songs that became ubiquitously associated with proms and weddings ("Last Dance"). Disco aficionados also get a taste of deeper cuts, including "Heaven Knows," "I Feel Love," and "Bad Girls."
This set also features Summer's foray into more straightforward pop like "She Works Hard for the Money" and "This Time I Know It's for Real," the comeback dance-pop smash that also doubled as a collaboration with '80s production team Stock/Aitken/Waterman. Although the second disc only contains five songs, it showcases the lengthy extended versions of songs that dance music fans are accustomed to hearing. This means you get 12" inch remixes of "I Feel Love" and "Hot Stuff," along with an epic version of "You're So Beautiful" that clocks in at just under 11 minutes.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 88 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Donna Summer

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 74,054
  • UPC: 602498606476
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)