Living the Gospel: Gospel Greats
by Various Artists

Living the Gospel: Gospel Greats
7 ratings
List Price: $7.98
Price: $7.18
You Save: $0.80 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
sku:  36W49
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 2, 2002
  • Label: Time Life Records


  • 1.I'll Take You There - The Staple Singers
  • 2.Mighty High - The Mighty Clouds of Joy
  • 3.How I Got Over - Aretha Franklin (live)
  • 4.No Charge - Shirley Caesar
  • 5.Lord, Don't Move the Mountain - Inez Andrews
  • 6.Jesus, You've Been Good to Me - The Gospel Keynotes
  • 7.My Soul Has Been Anchored - Douglas Miller
  • 8.Oh, Happy Day - The Edwin Hawkins Singers
  • 9.Everything's Gonna Be Alright - Al Green
  • 10.Jesus Is Love - Commodores
  • 11.Rough Side of the Mountain - Don Brown / Rev. F.C. Barnes / Janice Brown
  • 12.Soon and Very Soon - Andra‚ Crouch
  • 13.Tomorrow - The Winans
  • 14.I Give You Praise - The Richard Smallwood Singers
  • 15.I'm Available to You - Rev. Milton Brunson & The Thompson Community Singers
  • 16.Goin' Up Yonder - Walter Hawkins

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Anthony Heilbut.
Adapter: Edwin Hawkins.
Liner Note Author: Anthony Heilbut.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Mark Cass Stevens; Linda Rolla.
This Time/Life spiritual collection is essentially focused on post-Soul Stirrers gospel, after Sam Cooke helped that group revolutionize the style by mating it with pop production in the Big Bang of the gospel music universe. Accordingly, most of the tracks here are heavily oriented towards '60s/'70s soul sounds. Unless you just can't live without your Swan Silvertones fix, though, it's pretty hard to find anything to gripe about here. Of course the "Stairway to Heaven" of gospel, the Edwin Hawkins Singers' "Oh Happy Day" is here, but most of the selections, like the Staple Singers' funky "I'll Take You There" and Al Green's very '80s-sounding "Everything's Gonna Be Alright" could fit just as comfortably on any secular R&B compilation. Even pop artists you don't usually think of as gospel mavens get their licks in, as with the Commodores' ballad "Jesus is Love."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info:

  • UPC: 610583606010
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)