Rod Stewart Gold (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.4
5 ratings
List Price: $19.98
Your Price: $16.98
You Save: $3 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  MRY 000451602

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 26, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Island / Mercury

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Street Fighting Man
  • 2.Man Of Constant Sorrow
  • 3.Old Raincoat Won't Ever Let You Down, An
  • 4.Handbags And Gladrags
  • 5.Gasoline Alley
  • 6.It's All Over Now
  • 7.Only A Hobo
  • 8.My Way Of Giving
  • 9.Country Comforts
  • 10.Cut Across Shorty
  • 11.Jo's Lament
  • 12.You're My Girl (I Don't Want To Discuss It)
  • 13.Maggie May
  • 14.Mandolin Wind
  • 15.I'm Losing You, (I Know)
  • 16.Reason To Believe, (Find A)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Every Picture Tells A Story
  • 2.Seems Like A Long Time
  • 3.That's All Right: Amazing Grace / Medley
  • 4.Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  • 5.True Blue
  • 6.Lost Paraguayos
  • 7.Angel
  • 8.You Wear It Well
  • 9.I'd Rather Go Blind
  • 10.Twistin' The Night Away
  • 11.Pinball Wizard
  • 12.Oh No, Not My Baby
  • 13.Sweet Little Rock 'N' Roller
  • 14.Mine For Me
  • 15.Let Me Be Your Car
  • 16.Bring It Home To Me: You Send Me / Medley
  • 17.Farewell
  • 18.Missed You
  • 19.You Put Something Better Inside Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Rod Stewart (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); Rod Stewart; Elton John (vocals, piano); Ronnie Lane (vocals, bass guitar); Doreen Chanter, Harry, Ruby Turner, Irene Chanter (vocals); William Gaff (whistling); Ron Wood (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bottleneck guitar, bass guitar); Martin Quittenton (guitar, acoustic guitar); Martin Pugh, Martin Pugh (guitar); Sam Mitchell (slide guitar); Ray Jackson, Stanley Matthews , Roy Jackson (mandolin); Rick Grech (violin); Dennis O'Flynn (bass violin); The Memphis Horns (brass); Pete Sears (piano, organ, bass guitar); Spike Heatley (double bass, upright bass); Andy Newmark (drums); Neemoi "Speedy" Aquaye, Neemoi Acquaye (congas); Tropic Isles Steel Band (steel drum); Long John Baldry, Madeline Bell, Maggie Bell (background vocals); Gordon Huntley (steel guitar); Dick Powell (violin); Ian McLagan (piano, organ); Michael d'Abo (piano); Keith Emerson (organ); Kenney Jones, Mickey Waller (drums); Ray Cooper (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Recording information: Landsdowne, London, England; Morgan Studios, North London, England; Olympic Studios, London, England.
Photographers: Dave Ellis ; David Gahr; Michael Putland; Ian Dickson; Jak Kilby.
Unknown Contributor Role: London Symphony Orchestra.
Arrangers: Rod Stewart; Michael d'Abo; James Sullivan; Jimmy Horowitz; Sam Mitchell; Will Malone.
Rod Stewart built much of his career on bold, distinctive cover tunes, a point driven home by 2005's two-disc GOLD collection, which showcases Stewart's interpretive skills during his initial solo years of 1969-1974. More than half of the tracks here are penned by some of the finest pop/rock songwriters of the time, including Bob Dylan (the spare, somber "Only a Hobo" and the lilting "Tomorrow Is a Long Time"), Paul McCartney (the steel-drum-enhanced "Mine for Me"), Elton John & Bernie Taupin (the nostalgic "Country Comforts" and the rollicking "Let Me Be Your Car," the latter featuring John himself), and Tim Hardin (the timelessly soulful "[Find a] Reason to Believe").
During this time, Stewart became an excellent songwriter in his own right, penning (or co-penning) a number of tunes here, including the transcendent "Maggie May" and the surging "Every Picture Tells a Story." More extensive than 1976's THE BEST OF ROD STEWART and slightly outshining '92's THE MERCURY ANTHOLOGY, GOLD is ideal for anyone seeking a thorough sampler of Stewart's early solo work.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.4
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Rod Stewart

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 118,293
  • UPC: 602498812648
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items