The Mamas & the Papas Gold (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.1
19 ratings
List Price: $19.98
SALE PRICE: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  GEF 000261602

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Geffen Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Monday, Monday
  • 2.Straight Shooter
  • 3.Got A Feelin'
  • 4.I Call Your Name
  • 5.Do You Wanna Dance
  • 6.Go Where You Wanna Go
  • 7.California Dreamin'
  • 8.Somebody Groovy
  • 9.You Baby
  • 10.The In Crowd
  • 11.No Salt On Her Tail
  • 12.Dancing Bear
  • 13.Words Of Love
  • 14.My Heart Stood Still
  • 15.Dancing In The Street
  • 16.I Saw Her Again
  • 17.Once Upon A Time I Thought

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Dedicated To The One I Love
  • 2.My Girl
  • 3.Creeque Alley
  • 4.Sing For Your Supper
  • 5.Twist And Shout
  • 6.Free Advice
  • 7.Look Through My Window
  • 8.Glad To Be Unhappy
  • 9.The Right Somebody To Love
  • 10.Safe In My Garden
  • 11.Dream A Little Dream Of Me
  • 12.Nothing's Too Good For My Little Girl
  • 13.Twelve-Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming To The Canyon)
  • 14.Midnight Voyage
  • 15.Step Out

Product Description:

The Mamas & the Papas: Denny Doherty, John Phillips, Michelle Phillips, Cass Elliot .
Liner Note Author: Billy Altman.
Photographers: Guy Webster; Don Paulsen.
Though L.A. quartet the Mamas & the Papas were one of the quintessential 1960s folk-rock bands, they were unique even among their peers. For one thing, they were almost exclusively vocalists, a harmony group rather than a traditional rock "band," and most instrumental chores were left to hired hands. For another, they bore more of a '50s rock/pop influence than almost any of their contemporaries, though filtered through a more "modern" sensibility. These qualities quickly become apparent upon listening to the definitive two-disc anthology GOLD--the trademark thick, stacked harmonies and the unexpected prominence of doo-wop and girl-group pop in the stylistic template.
Amid the immensely joyful likes of "Do You Wanna Dance" and "Dancing in the Street," there are also strikingly melancholy tunes from the pen of Papa John Phillips, such as the hits "Monday, Monday" and "California Dreamin'." Here the sunny sound of the group provides the perfect foil for the wistful, bittersweet melodies and lyrics. From exultation to lamentation, the full spectrum of the Mamas & the Papas experience is here on GOLD.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Mamas & the Papas

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 17,480
  • UPC: 602498624685
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: