Chuck Berry Gold (2-CD)

Gold (2-CD)
22 ratings
Price: $12.80
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32SYF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Geffen Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Maybellene
  • Buy for $1.292.Wee Wee Hours
  • Buy for $1.293.Thirty Days
  • Buy for $1.294.You Can't Catch Me
  • Buy for $1.295.Downbound Train
  • Buy for $1.296.No Money Down
  • Buy for $1.297.Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • Buy for $1.298.Roll Over Beethoven
  • Buy for $1.299.Too Much Monkey Business
  • Buy for $1.2910.Havana Moon
  • Buy for $1.2911.School Day
  • Buy for $1.2912.Rock And Roll Music
  • Buy for $1.2913.Oh Baby Doll
  • Buy for $1.2914.Sweet Little Sixteen
  • Buy for $1.2915.Guitar Boogie
  • Buy for $1.2916.Reelin' & Rockin'
  • Buy for $1.2917.Johnny B. Goode
  • Buy for $1.2918.Around And Around
  • Buy for $1.2919.Beautiful Delilah
  • Buy for $1.2920.House Of Blue Lights
  • Buy for $1.2921.Carol
  • Buy for $1.2922.Jo Jo Gunne
  • Buy for $1.2923.Memphis, Tennessee
  • Buy for $1.2924.Sweet Little Rock & Roller
  • Buy for $1.2925.Little Queenie
  • Buy for $1.2926.Almost Grown

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Back In The U. S. A.
  • Buy for $1.292.Do You Love Me
  • Buy for $1.293.Betty Jean
  • Buy for $0.994.Childhood Sweetheart
  • Buy for $1.295.Let It Rock
  • Buy for $1.296.Too Pooped To Pop
  • Buy for $1.297.I Got To Find My Baby
  • Buy for $1.298.Don't You Lie To Me
  • Buy for $1.299.Bye Bye Johnny
  • Buy for $1.2910.Jaguar & Thunderbird
  • Buy for $1.2911.Down The Road Apiece
  • Buy for $1.2912.Confessin' The Blues
  • Buy for $1.2913.I'm Talking About You
  • Buy for $1.2914.Come On
  • Buy for $1.2915.Nadine (Is It You?)
  • Buy for $1.2916.You Never Can Tell
  • Buy for $1.2917.Promised Land
  • Buy for $1.2918.No Particular Place To Go
  • Buy for $1.2919.Dear Dad
  • Buy for $1.2920.I Want To Be Your Driver
  • Buy for $1.2921.Tulane
  • Buy for $1.2922.My Ding-A-Ling
  • Buy for $1.2923.Reelin' & Rockin'
  • Buy for $1.2924.Bio

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Chuck Berry (vocals, guitar); Jimmie Rogers, Hubert Sumlin, Bo Diddley, Matt Murphy, Owen McIntyre, Wayne "Tex" Gabriel (guitar); L.C. Davis (tenor saxophone); James Robinson, Stan Bronstein (saxophone); Johnnie Johnson, Otis Spann, Lafayette Leake, Paul Williams, Dave Kafinetti, Adam Ippolita (piano); Willie Dixon, G. Smith, Reggie Boyd (bass); Nic Potter, Gary Van Scyoc (electric bass); Jasper Thomas, Ebby Hardy, Fred Below, Odie Pain, Robbie McIntosh, Rick Frank (drums); Jerome Green (maracas); Etta James, The Marquees, The Ecuadors, Martha Berry (background vocals).
Producers: Esmond Edwards, Leonard Chess, Phil Chess.
Compilation producer: Andy McKaie.
Recorded between 1955 and 1973. Includes liner notes by Mark Humphrey.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Music Studios-West, North Hollywood, California).
Personnel: Chuck Berry (vocals, guitar); Hubert Sumlin (guitar, drums); Matt "Guitar" Murphy, Matt Murphy, Bo Diddley, Wayne "Tex" Gabriel (guitar); James Robinson , Stan Bronstein (saxophone); Dave Kafinetti, Paul Williams , Adam Ippolito (piano); G. Smith (bass instrument); Willie Dixon (double bass); Nic Potter (electric bass, bass guitar); Gary VanScyoc (electric bass); Rick Frank (drums); Martha Berry, The Ecuadors (background vocals); Jimmy Rogers , Owen McIntyre (guitar); L.C. Davis (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Johnnie Johnson, Lafayette Leake, Otis Spann (piano); Fred Below, Odie Payne, Jr., Robbie McIntosh , Jasper Thomas, Ebby Hardy (drums); Jerome Green (maracas); Etta James (background vocals); Elephant's Memory, The Marquees.
Liner Note Author: Mark Humphrey.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (05/21/1955-??/??/1973); Lanchester Arts Festival, Coventry, England (05/21/1955-??/??/1973); New York, NY (05/21/1955-??/??/1973); St. Louis, MO (05/21/1955-??/??/1973).
Photographers: Baron Wolman; Popsy Randolph; Chuck Stewart; Don Paulsen.
It would be an overstatement to say that Chuck Berry, like some guitar-slinging Dr. Frankenstein, single-handedly built the body of rock n' roll. Still, it is very likely that the monster's heart might have never started pounding properly had it not been for Berry's wholly revolutionary synthesis of R&B and rockabilly, his infectious, propulsive songs, his flashy, rock & roll attitude, and his no-nonsense approach to electric guitar solos.
The definitive collection of Berry's music, this two-disc, 50-track set is peppered with a few lesser-known cuts such as the dark, churning "Downbound Train" and the calypso-tinged "Havana Moon," as well as some entries from Berry's later period, such as the terrific "Tulane." But once Berry's classics start stacking up, there's not room for much else. Rock archetypes such as "Johnny B. Goode," "Sweet Little Sixteen," "Rock and Roll Music," and "Roll Over Beethoven" are merely the tip of the iceberg. Chess Records luminaries the likes of Willie Dixon, Hubert Sumlin, Otis Spann and Etta James and the Marquees lend bluesy, punchy, in-the-pocket back-up support. THE ANTHOLOGY is an utterly essential collection.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chuck Berry

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498805589
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)