Joan Armatrading Gold (2-CD)

Gold (2-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32SYA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: A&M

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Cool Blue Stole My Heart
  • Buy for $0.992.Travel So Far
  • Buy for $0.993.Dry Land
  • Buy for $0.994.Down To Zero
  • Buy for $0.995.Help Yourself
  • Buy for $1.296.Love And Affection
  • Buy for $0.997.Water With The Wine
  • Buy for $0.998.Save Me
  • Buy for $0.999.Somebody Who Loves You
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Flight Of The Wild Geese
  • Buy for $0.9911.Woncha Come On Home
  • Buy for $0.9912.Show Some Emotion
  • Buy for $0.9913.Warm Love
  • Buy for $0.9914.Kissin' And A Huggin'
  • Buy for $0.9915.Willow
  • Buy for $0.9916.Barefoot And Pregnant
  • Buy for $0.9917.Bottom To The Top
  • Buy for $0.9918.You Rope You Tie Me
  • Buy for $0.9919.Your Letter
  • Buy for $0.9920.Mama Mercy
  • Buy for $0.6921.Steppin' Out

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Rosie
  • Buy for $0.992.How Cruel
  • Buy for $0.993.He Wants Her
  • Buy for $0.994.I Really Must Be Going
  • Buy for $0.995.Me Myself I
  • Buy for $0.996.Ma-Me-O-Beach
  • Buy for $0.997.Friends
  • Buy for $0.998.Is It Tomorrow Yet?
  • Buy for $0.999.Turn Out The Light
  • Buy for $0.9910.All The Way From America
  • Buy for $0.9911.Feeling In My Heart (For You)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Simon
  • Buy for $0.9913.I'm Lucky
  • Buy for $0.9914.When I Get It Right
  • Buy for $1.2915.The Weakness In Me
  • Buy for $0.9916.No Love
  • Buy for $0.9917.Call Me Names, (I Love It When You)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Drop The Pilot
  • Buy for $0.9919.Everybody Gotta Know
  • Buy for $0.9920.What Do Boys Dream?
  • Buy for $0.9921.Frustration
  • Buy for $0.9922.Heaven

Product Description:

Originally released as LOVE AND AFFECTION: JOAN ARMATRADING CLASSICS 1975-1983 (2003).
Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Photographers: David Alexander ; Neal Preston.
Born on the island of St. Kitts but raised in England, singer/songwriter/guitarist Joan Armatrading was a unique presence in the 1970s British music scene. While Armatrading's bold, nuanced singing nodded to her West Indies background, her potent, often-restless folk-rock incorporated elements of funk, jazz, and chamber-pop. The two-disc GOLD collection offers up an excellent sampler of Armatrading's albums from '75 (BACK TO THE NIGHT) to '83 (THE KEY), including the chiming, suite-like "Cool Blue Stole My Heart;" the funky, soulful "Show Some Emotion;" and the rocked-out, New Wave-flavored "Me Myself I." (In fact, almost every track from ME MYSELF I, helmed by Blondie producer Richard Gottehrer, is presented here.) A direct link between Joni Mitchell and Tracy Chapman, Armatrading is a fascinating, dynamic, and sorely underrated performer, who is well-served by this 43-track compilation. Since GOLD features songs from a number of out-of-print albums, it is as valuable to longtime Armatrading fans as it is to those looking to discover her music, especially since it trumps any prior anthology of her work.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joan Armatrading

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498828397
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)