Johnnie Taylor Chronicle - 20 Greatest Hits

Chronicle - 20 Greatest Hits
16 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.43 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.55 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32SJE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Fantasy


  • Buy for $0.991.Who's Makin' Love
  • Buy for $0.992.Take Care Of Your Homework
  • Buy for $0.993.Testify (I Wonna)
  • Buy for $0.994.I Could Never Be President
  • Buy for $0.995.Love Bones
  • Buy for $0.996.Steal Away
  • Buy for $0.997.I Am Somebody, Part I
  • Buy for $0.998.Jody's Got Your Girl And Gone
  • Buy for $0.999.I Don't Wanna Lose You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Hijackin' Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.Standing In For Jody
  • Buy for $0.9912.Doing My Own Thing, Part I
  • Buy for $0.9913.Stop Doggin' Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Believe In You (You Believe In Me)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Cheaper To Keep Her
  • Buy for $0.9916.We're Getting Careless With Our Love
  • Buy for $0.9917.I've Been Born Again
  • Buy for $0.9918.It's September
  • Buy for $0.9919.Try Me Tonight
  • Buy for $0.9920.Just Keep On Lovin' Me

Product Description:

Producers: Don Davis, Al Jackson, Al Bell, Terry Manning.
Personnel: Johnnie Taylor (vocals).
Photographer: Phil Bray.
Getting his big break as Sam Cooke's replacement in the Soul Stirrers, vocalist Johnnie Taylor may have started out in gospel, but he truly hit his stride (at least as a viable pop artist) when he shifted to R&B and signed to the Stax label in the mid 1960s. This 20-track collection covers Taylor's '60s/'70s run on Stax, beginning with the singer's first major hits--the lightly funky, horn-laden "Who's Makin' Love?" and its like-minded follow-up, "Take Care of Your Homework." Many of these late-'60s/early-'70s tracks feature Stax's mind-blowing assemblage of in-house musicians--from Isaac Hayes on guitar to the Memphis Horns and Booker T. & the MG's--and this top-notch backing only enhances the punch of Taylor's impassioned, raspy style. While this compilation doesn't contain Taylor's later hits (namely the slinky, chart-topping "Disco Lady"), CHRONICLE does an excellent job of surveying his classic Stax years, making it the perfect companion piece to the '76-'80 Columbia anthology RATED X-TRAORDINARE.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:
Get Email Alerts for Johnnie Taylor

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 24,204
  • UPC: 025218300629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)