Tom Petty Anthology - Through The Years (2-CD)

Anthology - Through The Years (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
75 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $19.98
Your Price: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  358AQ
on most orders of $35
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: MCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 12/1/00, p.102
"...It's hard to imagine a better summary of the Heartbreakers' 25-year career." - Rating: A
Q - 8/01, p.154
4 stars out of 5 - "...Conatins most [of his essential tracks], and more, including '81s Stevie Nicks duet..."
Uncut - 2/01, p.80
4 stars out of 5 - "...A century of great American music from a great American institution..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Breakdown
  • Buy for $1.292.American Girl
  • Buy for $0.993.Hometown Blues
  • Buy for $0.994.The Wild One Forever
  • Buy for $1.295.I Need To Know
  • Buy for $1.296.Listen To Her Heart
  • Buy for $0.997.Too Much Ain't Enough
  • Buy for $1.298.Refugee
  • Buy for $1.299.Here Comes My Girl
  • Buy for $1.2910.Don't Do Me Like That
  • Buy for $1.2911.Even The Losers
  • Buy for $1.2912.The Waiting
  • Buy for $1.2913.Woman In Love, A (It's Not Me)
  • 14.Stop Draggin' My Heart Around
  • Buy for $1.2915.You Got Lucky
  • Buy for $0.9916.Straight Into Darkness
  • Buy for $1.2917.Change Of Heart

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Rebels
  • Buy for $1.292.Don't Come Around Here No More
  • Buy for $0.993.The Best Of Everything
  • Buy for $0.994.So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star
  • Buy for $1.295.Jammin' Me
  • Buy for $0.996.It'll All Work Out
  • Buy for $1.297.Love Is A Long Road
  • Buy for $1.298.Free Fallin'
  • Buy for $1.299.Yer So Bad
  • Buy for $1.2910.I Won't Back Down
  • Buy for $1.2911.Runnin' Down A Dream
  • Buy for $1.2912.Learning To Fly
  • Buy for $1.2913.Into The Great Wide Open
  • Buy for $0.9914.Two Gunslingers
  • Buy for $1.2915.Mary Jane's Last Dance
  • Buy for $0.9916.Waiting For Tonight
  • Buy for $0.9917.Surrender

Product Description:

ANTHOLOGY: THROUGH THE YEARS includes the previously unreleased "Surrender" and "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" (with Stevie Nicks).
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Mike Campbell (guitar, bass); Benmont Tench (keyboards, background vocals); Howie Epstein (bass, background vocals); Ron Blair (bass); Stan Lynch (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Stevie Nicks (vocals); Scott Thurston (guitar); David A. Stewart (Coral sitar); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Steve Ferrone, Jim Keltner (drums); Jeff Lynne, George Harrison, The Bangles (background vocals).
Producers include: Denny Cordell, Rick Rubin, Jeff Lynne, Jimmy Iovine, Noah Shark.
Recorded between 1976 and August 2000. Includes liner notes by Cameron Crowe.
Digitally remastered by Joe Gaswirt (OceanView Mastering, Los Angeles, California).
Personnel: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Benmont Tench (vocals, keyboards); Stan Lynch (vocals, drums); Howie Epstein, George Harrison (vocals); Mike Campbell , Scott Thurston (guitar); Dave Stewart (coral sitar); Jim Keltner, Steve Ferrone (drums); Phil Seymour (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: George Drakoulias; Jim Scott .
Neatly fitting in between 1993's GREATEST HITS and the 5-CD PLAYBACK box set that came out two years later, this 34-track collection is a chronological tour of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers' MCA Records material. The consistent quality found throughout this two-CD set that's bookended by the sinister-sounding "Breakdown" and chiming "Surrender"(a song Petty wrote in the '70s but didn't get around to recording until August 2000) boggles the mind.
Tight playing and a palpable sense of passion from the four-piece Heartbreakers transform songs like "Even the Losers", "Rebels" and "Mary Jane's Last Dance" into rock & roll manna. Elsewhere, this Floridian singer-songwriter's sharp eye for pop culture ("Jammin' Me") and storytelling mastery ("Into the Great Wide Open," "Two Gunslingers") become pleasantly recurring characteristics. The inclusion of a scorching live version of the Byrds' "So You Wanna Be a Rock 'N' Roll Star" show Petty and company to be as potent on stage as in the studio. By the end of this musical tour it's hard to argue with the lofty statement Cameron Crowe makes in his liner notes calling Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers "...the greatest and most consistent American band of the last twenty-five years..."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 75 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tom Petty

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 110,865
  • UPC: 008817017723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm