New Edition All The Number Ones

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
All The Number Ones
10% OFF
Rating 4.7
22 ratings
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UNI 157598

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Hip-O Records


  • 1.Candy Girl
  • 2.Cool It Now
  • 3.Mr. Telephone Man
  • 4.Girlfriend
  • 5.Don't Be Cruel
  • 6.Can You Stand The Rain
  • 7.My Prerogative
  • 8.Where Do We Go From Here
  • 9.Every Little Step
  • 10.On Our Own
  • 11.Rub You The Right Way
  • 12.Poison
  • 13.Sensitivity
  • 14.My, My, My
  • 15.B.B.D. (I Thought It Was Me)?
  • 16.Wrap My Body Tight
  • 17.Humpin' Around
  • 18.Hit Me Off

Product Description:

New Edition: Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant, Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ronald DeVoe, Johnny Gill.
Recording information: UMG Recording Inc.
Photographers: Todd Gray; Eddie Wolfl; Angelica Chaplin; Carol Friedman.
Arranger: Maurice Starr.
An excellent idea that might be slightly disappointing in the execution, All the Number Ones collects 18 singles that topped Billboard magazine's R&B charts, all performed either by New Edition or its members in their various outside projects. That results in a terrific, endlessly playable collection of urban pop-soul and new jack swing, but it also means that several of the collective's best-known songs are left off simply because they didn't top the R&B charts. Missing in action are Bobby Brown's "Roni" and "Rock Wit'cha," Bell Biv DeVoe's "Do Me!," Johnny Gill's "Fairweather Friend," and Ralph Tresvant's "Stone Cold Gentleman" and "Do What I Gotta Do," plus a bevy of New Edition hits. In fact, it might have been an even better idea to gather the biggest hits by the various New Edition spin-offs and leave the parent group's output alone; such an approach would have erased the contrast between the early New Edition bubblegum singles that lead off this collection and the grittier, funkier new jack hits that follow. Still, at least these omissions are due to the compilation's stated intent (collecting All the Number Ones and nothing else), rather than a record-company marketing tactic. Even casual fans will undoubtedly miss at least a couple of the aforementioned hits, but really, what is here makes for a great listen and a fine introduction to one of the most influential R&B family trees of the '80s and early '90s. ~ Steve Huey

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for New Edition

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 20,036
  • UPC: 601215759822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: