Eric Anderson Violets of Dawn

Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $20.99
Your Price: $18.89
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  IMT 862548
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 26, 2005
  • Label: Vanguard Masters

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 6-7/00, p.56
"...A compilation of [his] early Vanguard work, spanning his more folk-based period of 1964 to 1970....merits a place on any folk completist's music shelf."


  • 1.Boots of Blue
  • 2.Rambler's Lament
  • 3.Violets of Dawn
  • 4.Thirsty Boots
  • 5.Hey Babe, Have You Been Cheatin'
  • 6.Hustler
  • 7.Close The Door Lightly When You Go
  • 8.Song To J. C. B.
  • 9.Dusty Box Car Wall
  • 10.Come To My Bedside
  • 11.Looking Glass
  • 12.Just A Country Dream
  • 13.Eyes Gently Rolling
  • 14.On The Edge of You
  • 15.All I Remember Is You
  • 16.Rollin' Home
  • 17.Miss Lonely Are You Blue
  • 18.Broken Hearted Mama

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Eric Anderson (vocals, guitar, harmonica).
Recorded between 1964 & 1970. Includes liner notes by Billy Altman.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Vanguard Records' 1999 Eric Andersen compilation Violets of Dawn differs in only four tracks out of 18 from its 1970 compilation The Best of Eric Andersen, and the selection is marginally improved. (The major difference is that Violets of Dawn contains two rare tracks, "Boots of Blue" and "Rambler's Lament," from the 1964 compilation New Folks, Vol. 2.) The sound, remastered from the original analog tapes, is much improved. Like its similar predecessor, Violets of Dawn collects the most impressive efforts from Andersen's '60s Vanguard recordings, including the title track, "Thirsty Boots," "Close the Door Lightly When You Go," and "Come to My Bedside." It also traces Andersen's musical development from acoustic folk to folk-rock and country, a development that shadowed Bob Dylan's progression during the same period. And it stops short of the excellent work Andersen did with Blue River (1972) on Columbia and Be True to You (1975) on Arista. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Eric Anderson

Product Info:

  • UPC: 029667010924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item