Bill Evans The Complete Fantasy Recordings (9-CD Box Set)

The Complete Fantasy Recordings (9-CD Box Set)
5 ratings
Price: $121.48
List Price: $134.98
You Save: $13.50 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (9 Discs)
sku:  32V6V
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 9
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Fantasy

Description by

Here is the complete body of work recorded by Bill Evans as released by the Fantasy label during the seven-year period closely preceding Evans's untimely death in 1980.

The set contains 98 selections recorded by the influential jazz pianist between 1973 and 1979 in club, concert, or studio settings, plus a previously unreleased 1976 Paris concert recording. Also included is a fascinating hour-long interview with Evans at the piano, conducted by Marian McPartland and originally broadcast on National Public Radio in 1978.

In these solo, duo, trio, and quintet performances with Tony Bennett, Ray Brown, Kenny Burrell, Eddie Gomez, Philly Joe Jones, Lee Konitz, Harold Land, Warne Marsh, Marty Morell, and Eliot Zigmund, Bill Evans is revealed as a commanding artist at the peak of his powers.

Contains a 32-page illustrated booklet with essay by Gene Lees and notes on the sessions by Helen Keane.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Mornin' Glory
  • Buy for $0.992.Up With The Lark
  • Buy for $0.993.Yesterday I Heard The Rain
  • 4.My Romance
  • Buy for $0.995.When Autumn Comes
  • Buy for $0.996.T.T.T.T. (Twelve Tone Tune Two)
  • Buy for $0.997.Hullo Bolinas
  • 8.Gloria's Step
  • Buy for $0.999.On Green Dolphin Street

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Up With The Lark
  • Buy for $0.992.Quiet Now
  • Buy for $0.993.Gloria's Step
  • Buy for $0.994.When In Rome
  • Buy for $0.995.It Amazes Me
  • 6.Since We Met
  • Buy for $0.997.Midnight Mood
  • Buy for $0.998.See Saw
  • 9.Elsa
  • Buy for $0.9910.Sareen Jurer
  • Buy for $0.9911.Time Remembered
  • Buy for $0.9912.Turn Out The Stars / But Beautiful

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • Buy for $0.991.Re: Person I Knew
  • 2.Sugar Plum
  • Buy for $0.993.Alfie
  • Buy for $0.994.T.T.T.
  • 5.Excerpt From Dolphin Dance / Very Early
  • Buy for $0.996.34 Skidoo
  • Buy for $0.997.Emily
  • Buy for $0.998.Are You All The Things
  • Buy for $1.299.Invitation
  • Buy for $0.9910.Blue Serge
  • Buy for $0.9911.Show-Type Tune
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Nature Of Things

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • Buy for $0.991.Are You All The Things
  • Buy for $0.992.A Face Without A Name
  • Buy for $1.293.Falling Grace
  • 4.Hi Lili, Hi Lo
  • Buy for $0.995.Gone With The Wind
  • Buy for $0.996.Saudade Do Brasil
  • Buy for $1.297.My Foolish Heart
  • Buy for $1.298.The Touch Of Your Lips
  • Buy for $1.299.Some Other Time
  • Buy for $1.2910.When In Rome
  • Buy for $1.2911.We'll Be Together Again
  • Buy for $1.2912.Young And Foolish
  • Buy for $1.2913.Waltz For Debby
  • Buy for $1.2914.But Beautiful
  • Buy for $1.2915.Days Of Wine And Roses

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Elsa
  • Buy for $0.992.Milano
  • Buy for $0.993.Venutian Rhythm Dance
  • Buy for $0.994.Django
  • Buy for $1.295.But Beautiful
  • Buy for $0.996.Minha (All Mine)
  • Buy for $0.997.Driftin'
  • Buy for $0.998.I Love You
  • Buy for $0.999.The Summer Knows
  • Buy for $0.9910.In A Sentimental Mood
  • 11.The Touch Of Your Lips
  • 12.In Your Own Sweet Way
  • 13.Make Someone Happy

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • Buy for $0.991.All Of You
  • Buy for $0.992.What Kind Of Fool Am I
  • 3.People
  • Buy for $0.994.Since We Met
  • Buy for $0.995.The But Not For Me / Isn't It Romantic / Opener
  • Buy for $0.996.Sweet Dulcinea
  • 7.Martina
  • Buy for $1.298.Second Time Around
  • 9.A Child Is Born
  • 10.Bass Face
  • 11.Nobody Else But Me

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • Buy for $0.991.Sugar Plum
  • Buy for $0.992.Time Remembered
  • 3.34 Skidoo
  • Buy for $0.994.T.T.T.T.
  • Buy for $0.995.Turn Out The Stars
  • 6.Someday My Prince Will Come
  • Buy for $0.997.Minha (All Mine)
  • 8.All Of You
  • Buy for $0.999.Waltz For Debby
  • 10.Eiderdown
  • Buy for $0.9911.Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  • Buy for $0.9912.Pensativa

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • Buy for $0.991.Speak Low
  • Buy for $0.992.When Will I Fall In Love
  • Buy for $0.993.Night And Day
  • Buy for $1.294.I Will Say Goodbye
  • Buy for $1.295.Dolphin Dance
  • Buy for $0.996.Seascape
  • Buy for $0.997.Peau Douce
  • Buy for $0.998.Nobody Else But Me
  • Buy for $0.999.I Will Say Goodbye
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Opener
  • Buy for $0.9911.Quiet Light
  • Buy for $1.2912.A House Is Not A Home
  • Buy for $0.9913.Orson's Theme

Tracks on Disc 9:

  • 1.Marian McPartland's Piano Jazz Interview / Kaleidoscope (Theme) / Waltz For Debby / All Of You / In

Product Description:

BILL EVANS: THE COMPLETE FANTASY RECORDINGS contains material recorded for Fantasy between 1973 and 1979, closely preceding his untimely death in 1980. Over 10 and-a-half hours of club, concert and studio recordings, plus a previously unreleased 1976 Paris concert. Disc 9 is an hour-long interview done by Marian McPartland for National Public Radio in 1978 with Bill at the piano. This set comes with a 32 page booklet with an essay by Gene Lees, notes on the sessions by Helen Keane and photos of Evans during the 70s.
Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Tony Bennett (vocals); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Warne Marsh, Harold Land (tenor saxophone); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Eddie Gomez, Ray Brown (bass); Marty Morrell, Philly Joe Jones, Eliot Zigmund (drums).
Producers: Helen Keane, Orrin Keepnews, Andre Francis, Dick Phipps.
Compilation producer: Helen Keane.
Engineers include: Kenchi Handa, Jim Stern, Michael De Lugg.
Includes liner notes by Gene Lees and Helen Keane.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
The late Bill Evans was surely one of the finest jazz pianists ever. Few artists of any genre could match the level of quality-with-quantity of this legendary musician. Evans was not only the consummate jazz pianist, with incredible technique (classical pianist Glenn Gould admired him) and legendary lyricism, but a quiet innovator as well. There probably isn't a jazz pianist that values lyrical, swinging qualities that doesn't have a bit of Evans in him or her.
This nine-CD set collects all the recordings for the Fantasy label--a time period ranging from 1973 through 1978. The tracks feature Evans unaccompanied, in duo, trio and rarely-heard quintet formats, as well as the complete album he did in 1975 with Tony Bennet. This is a superb collection of some of the best piano jazz recorded not only in the '70s, but in the history of the music. Jazz fans and fans of good piano (any genre) should save up for this one.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bill Evans

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218101226
  • Shipping Weight: 2.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 9 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)