Sonny Rollins The Complete Prestige Recordings (7-CD Box Set)

The Complete Prestige Recordings (7-CD Box Set)
4 ratings
Price: $80.98
List Price: $89.98
You Save: $9 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (7 Discs)
sku:  32V6A
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 7
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Prestige

Description by

Sonny Rollins first recorded for Prestige as a teenaged sideman on a 1949 J.J. Johnson session. Seven and a half years later he made his eighteenth and final session for the label. In the intervening period, the promising but uncertain young tenor player from Harlem had matured into a full-toned and powerful artist who was already beginning to be recognized as one of the truly great improvisers in the entire history of jazz.

These seven very full compact discs - offering a total of 90 selections and totaling almost 490 minutes of music - show the rapidly developing young saxophonist as a sideman with his close friends Miles Davis and Thelonious Monk, as well as with J.J. Johnson and Art Farmer, and as a leader on ten sessions that feature such jazz immortals as Monk, Max Roach, the legendary Clifford Brown, Kenny Dorham, Tommy Flanagan, Art Blakey, Horace Silver, John Lewis, Milt Jackson, and many others. The many highlights of this collection include the only recorded encounter between Rollins and John Coltrane, and the pivotal Saxophone Colossus album.

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 12/92, p.45
5 Stars - Excellent - " hear the elements of his classic style fall into place...By July 1951 he was already starting to sound like Sonny Rollins, the master of rhythmic assurance, boisterous energy, tension-building rests, and harshly beautiful tone...By 1956 his sound had become downright voluptuous..."
Musician - 10/92, p.108
" can begin to apprehend both Rollins' incomparable talent and the daunting standards he has always posed for himself, and why to this day the greatest living improviser remains insatiable and unsatisfied--still a work in progress, and in a class by himself..."
Audio Magazine (1/93, p.155) - "...pick any of the 90 cuts, and there it is--that silk-like, relentless, muscular, and melodic sound..."
Stereophile (12/92, pp.259-261) - "...he was an original, a bebop player with a difference, fiery and fluent, but also witty, allusive, and orderly...many of his best solos alternate between tight, tartly stated phrases and billowing flights of fancy..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Elysee
  • 2.Opus V
  • 3.Hilo
  • 4.Fox Hunt
  • 5.Morpheus
  • 6.Down
  • 7.Blue Room
  • 8.Whispering
  • 9.I Know
  • 10.Conception
  • 11.Out Of The Blue
  • 12.Denial
  • 13.Bluing
  • 14.Dig
  • 15.My Old Flame
  • 16.It's Only A Paper Moon

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Time On My Hands
  • 2.Mambo Bounce
  • 3.This Love Of Mine
  • 4.Shadrack
  • 5.On A Slow Boat To China
  • 6.With A Song In My Heart
  • 7.Scoops
  • 8.Newk's Fadeaway
  • 9.Compulsion
  • 10.The Serpent's Tooth
  • 11.The Serpent's Tooth
  • 12.'Round About Midnight
  • 13.In A Sentimental Mood
  • 14.The Stopper
  • 15.Almost Like Being In Love
  • 16.No Moe
  • 17.Think Of One
  • 18.Think Of One

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Let's Call This
  • 2.Friday The 13th
  • 3.Soft Shoe
  • 4.Confab In Tempo
  • 5.I'll Take Romance
  • 6.Airegin
  • 7.Oleo
  • 8.But Not For Me
  • 9.But Not For Me
  • 10.Doxy
  • 11.Movin' Out
  • 12.Swingin' For Bumsy
  • 13.Silk 'N' Satin
  • 14.Solid

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.I Want To Be Happy
  • 2.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 3.More Than You Know
  • 4.There's No Business Like Show Business
  • 5.Paradox
  • 6.Raincheck
  • 7.There Are Such Things
  • 8.It's All Right With Me
  • 9.In Your Own Sweet Way
  • 10.No Line
  • 11.Vierd Blues

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.I Feel A Song Coming On
  • 2.Pent-Up House
  • 3.Valse Hot
  • 4.Kiss And Run
  • 5.Count Your Blessings
  • 6.My Reverie
  • 7.The Most Beautiful Girl In The World
  • 8.Paul's Pal
  • 9.When Your Lover Has Gone
  • 10.Tenor Madness

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 2.St. Thomas
  • 3.Strode Rode
  • 4.Blue 7
  • 5.Moritat
  • 6.I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  • 7.Kids Know
  • 8.The House I Live In

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.I Remember You (I)
  • 2.My Melancholy Baby (II)
  • 3.Old Folks (III)
  • 4.They Can't Take That Away From Me (IV)
  • 5.Just Friends (V)
  • 6.My Little Suede Shoes (VI)
  • 7.Star Eyes (VII)
  • 8.B. Swift
  • 9.My Ideal
  • 10.Sonny Boy
  • 11.Two Different Worlds
  • 12.Ee-ah
  • 13.B. Quick

Product Description:

This 7-disc compilation features 90 selections of Sonny Rollins recordings for Prestige from 1949 to 1957. It contains the only recording Sonny Rollins made with John Coltrane. Also included is a booklet with photos and a discography.
Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Earl Coleman (vocals); Jackie McLean (alto saxophone); Clifford Brown, Kenny Dorham (trumpet); Julius Watkins (French horn); Bennie Green, J.J. Johnson (trombone); Walter Bishop, Ray Bryant, Kenny Drew, Tommy Flanagan, Elmo Hope, Wade Legge, John Lewis, Richie Powell, Horace Silver (piano); Paul Chambers, Leonard Gaskin, Percy Heath, George Morrow, Tommy Potter, Doug Watkins (bass); Kenny Clarke, Roy Haynes, Philly Joe Jones, Willie Jones, Art Taylor (drums).
Producers: Bob Weinstock, Ira Gitler.
Compilation producer: Orrin Keepnews.
Engineers include: Harry Smith, Tom Dowd, Rudy Van Gelder.
Recorded at Apex Studios, New York, New York between May 26, 1949 and December 17, 1951; WOR Studios, New York, New York between January 30 and November 13, 1953; Beltone Studios, New York, New York on January 20, 1954; Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey between June 29, 1954 and December 6, 1956. Includes liner notes by Bob Blumenthal and Charles Blancq.
Sonny Rollins is justly a legend of jazz. He's played with all the giants of the modern era--Thelonious Monk, Clifford Brown, Max Roach, Miles Davis--as well as establishing himself as one of the essential voices of the tenor saxophone in the 1950s and 1960s. Rollins assured his status in the jazz pantheon with his rich, steely, almost metallic-sounding tone (one that does not sacrifice warmth in the slightest), the asymmetrical construction of his phrasing and his incredible technique. His tunes have become standards: "Airegin," "Pent-Up House," "Oleo," "St. Thomas."
Rollins influenced John Coltrane, and in the first half of the '60s he had a group with some of the prime movers of the jazz avant garde (namely, Don Cherry and Jimmy Garrison), as well as doing the soundtrack for the Michael Caine film "Alfie." In the years 1949-1956, he recorded for Prestige, as both sideman and leader. This 7-CD set collects all Rollins from his formative years to the pivotal SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS album, with a total of approximately 490 minutes of music. This collection is not only classic Rollins and great jazz, but also a superb "time capsule" of a vital time in America's musical development.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sonny Rollins

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218440721
  • Shipping Weight: 1.52/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 7 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)