Ella Fitzgerald The Concert Years (Live) (4-CD Box Set)

The Concert Years (Live) (4-CD Box Set)
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  32V4W
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 15, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Pablo

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  • 2.Body And Soul
  • 3.Why Don't You Do Right
  • 4.Oh Lady, Be Good
  • 5.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 6.How High The Moon
  • 7.My Funny Valentine
  • 8.Smooth Sailing
  • 9.Frim Fram Sauce
  • 10.Perdido
  • 11.Imagine My Frustration
  • 12.Duke's Place
  • 13.Satin Doll
  • 14.Something To Live For
  • 15.So Dango Samba
  • 16.Don't Be That Way
  • 17.You've Changed
  • 18.Let's Do It
  • 19.On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  • 20.Cotton Tail

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Night And Day
  • 2.The Many Faces Of Cole Porter (Medley)
  • 3.The Ballad Medley
  • 4.The Bossa Scene (Medley)
  • 5.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • 6.St. Louis Blues
  • 7.Love
  • 8.Begin The Beguine
  • 9.Indian Summer
  • 10.You've Got A Friend
  • 11.Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most
  • 12.Madalena
  • 13.Shiny Stockings
  • 14.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 15.C-Jam Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 2.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • 3.Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  • 4.The Man I Love
  • 5.It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 6.Lemon Drop
  • 7.The Very Thought Of You
  • 8.Happy Blues
  • 9.Caravan
  • 10.Satin Doll
  • 11.Teach Me Tonight
  • 12.Wave
  • 13.It's All Right With Me
  • 14.How High The Moon
  • 15.T'Aint Nobody's Buzness If I Do

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Too Close For Comfort
  • 2.I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues
  • 3.Day By Day
  • 4.Ordinary Fool
  • 5.Billie's Bounce
  • 6.Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  • 7.Make Me Rainbows
  • 8.After You've Gone
  • 9.'Round Midnight
  • 10.You've Changed
  • 11.Basella
  • 12.Manteca
  • 13.Willow Weep For Me
  • 14.All Of Me
  • 15.Blue Moon
  • 16.Night And Day
  • 17.Flying Home

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Benny Carter, Willie Smith, Ben Webster, Flip Phillips, Johnny Hodges, Stan Getz, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Zoot Sims (saxophone); Roy Eldridge, Cootie Williams, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Clark Terry (trumpet); Al Grey, J.J. Johnson (trombone); Oscar Peterson, Tommy Flanagan, Paul Smith (piano); Herb Ellis, Joe Pass, Freddie Green (guitar); Ray Brown, Keter Betts, Niels-Henning Orsted Pederson (bass); Ed Thigpen, Mickey Roker, Louie Bellson (drums); The Duke Ellington Orchestra, The Count Basie Orchestra.
Engineers include: Val Valentin, Angel Balestier, John Timperly.
Compilation producer: Eric Miller.
Recorded between 1953 and 1983. Includes liner notes by Eric Miller and Benny Green.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1994, Fantasy).
THE CONCERT YEARS is an impressive four-disc box set covering the decades from 1953 to 1983. It was a time when Ella Fitzgerald was probably the most renowned female jazz singer in the world, selling out large theaters and concert halls when most jazz musicians could barely fill a nightclub.
These are all live recordings, obviously, and they run the gamut from big band dates--the Duke Ellington and Count Basie Orchestras, two of Fitzgerald's favorite collaborators, appear on several tracks--to more intimate trio appearances. The tracks recorded with the Oscar Peterson Trio are possibly the best of the lot, as Fitzgerald's voice is always front and center on them, in less danger of being overshadowed by showboating soloists. Not that even the most spotlight-grabbing of instrumentalists, such as Ellington's star tenor Johnny Hodges, can divert the listener's attention from that spectacular voice. This is live jazz at its finest.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218441421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.49/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)