Jean Knight Mr. Big Stuff

Mr. Big Stuff
19% OFF
Rating 4.7
6 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Sale Price: $10.77
CYBER SALE: $9.69 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.29 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  STX 8554
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Stax


  • Buy for $1.291.Mr. Big Stuff
  • Buy for $0.992.Little Bit Of Something, A (Is Better Than All Of Nothing)
  • Buy for $0.993.Don't Talk About Jody
  • Buy for $0.994.Think It Over
  • Buy for $0.995.Take Him (You Can Have My Man)
  • Buy for $0.996.You City Slicker
  • Buy for $0.997.Why I Keep Living These Memories
  • Buy for $0.998.Call Me Your Fool If You Want To
  • Buy for $0.999.One-Way Ticket To Nowhere (It's The End Of The Ride)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Your Six-Bit Change
  • Buy for $1.2911.Do Me
  • Buy for $0.9912.Helping Man
  • Buy for $0.9913.Carry On
  • Buy for $0.9914.Save The Last Kiss For Me
  • Buy for $0.9915.Pick Up The Pieces
  • Buy for $1.2916.You Think You're Hot Stuff

Product Description:

Personnel: Jean Knight, Wardell Quezerque, Jerry Puckett, William Laverne Robbins, James Carey Stroud.
Personnel: Jean Knight (vocals); Jerry Puckett (guitar); Wardell Quezergue (piano, organ); James Stroud (drums).
Recording information: Malaco Studios, Jackson, MS.
Arranger: Wardell Quezergue.
Jean Knight could do no wrong in 1971, when the strutting "Mr. Big Stuff" was climbing the pop and R&B charts, well on its way to becoming one of the most familiar chart hits of all time. Her debut album, with its no-brainer title, featured a lot of good material on it, not all of it in the same vein as her hit. Producer/arranger Wardell Quezergue (he also appeared on keyboards) handled the record well, with a band consisting of Malaco hands like guitarist Jerry Puckett and drummer James Stroud. Knight shows an admirable range on these songs, stretching out on the heartbroken ballads "A Little Bit of Something (Is Better Than All of Nothing)" and "Why I Keep Living These Memories" (each with a heavy church feel). "You City Slicker" was much too much of a "Mr. Big Stuff" sound-alike, but "Take Him (You Can Have My Man)" would've been a worthy follow-up to her only Top Ten hit. The CD reissue by Fantasy added a few of her later singles, including the charting "You Think You're Hot Stuff" and the fine "Carry On." ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Jean Knight

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 43,585
  • UPC: 025218855426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Stax / Southern Soul Music Categories: