Tito Puente The Essential Tito Puente (2-CD)

The Essential Tito Puente (2-CD)
7 ratings
Only 10 copies left
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.94
You Save: $0.37 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32VVD
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 16, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.53
"[F]eaturing his best bands and players making some of the most infectiously rhythmic music on the planet."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Ran Kan Kan
  • 2.Swinging The Mambo
  • 3.Four Beat Cha Cha Pt. 1
  • 4.Cuando Te Vea
  • 5.Tito Guajira
  • 6.Mambo Gozon
  • 7.Night Hawk
  • 8.Witch Doctor's Nightmare
  • 9.Abaniquito
  • 10.Picadillo
  • 11.Mambo Beat
  • 12.Cao Cao Mani Picao
  • 13.Birdland After Dark
  • 14.Obatala Yeza
  • 15.Chanchullo
  • 16.Pa' Los Rumberos
  • 17.Hong Kong Mambo (Alternate Take)
  • 18.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 19.Complicacion
  • 20.Tito Timbero

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Oye Como Va
  • 2.Cual Es La Idea
  • 3.Cayuco
  • 4.Son De La Loma
  • 5.3-D Mambo
  • 6.Cuban Nightmare
  • 7.Oye Mi Guaguanco
  • 8.Take the "A" Train
  • 9.Elegua Chango
  • 10.Si Te Contara
  • 11.Cha-Con-Cha
  • 12.Dance Mania
  • 13.Sacala
  • 14.Ti Mon Bo
  • 15.Yambeque
  • 16.Lotus Land
  • 17.Malibu Beat
  • 18.Al Gozar Timbero
  • 19.Havana After Dark
  • 20.Mambo Buda

Product Description:

Personnel: Tito Puente (vocals, vibraphone, timbales); Graciela Per‚z Grillo, Vicentico Vald‚s (vocals); Johnny Pacheco (flute); Doc Severinsen, Bernie Glow, Vincent Frisaura (trumpet); Gilbert Lopez, Alvin Gellers, Ray Concepcion (piano); Robert Rodriguez (acoustic bass); Manny Oquendo, Mongo Santamar¡a, Ray Barretto, Candido Camero, Carlos "Patato" Valdes (congas); Ray Rodriguez, Willie Bobo, Jose Mangual (bongos).
Liner Note Author: Jim Payne.
A remarkably well selected two-disc collection, THE ESSENTIAL TITO PUENTE focuses on the Latin-music icon's heyday, from 1949 to 1960. Endlessly enthusiastic, undeniably charming, and prodigiously talented, Puente was the king of New York City's mambo scene in the '50s, fascinating jubilant crowds at the Palladium and other esteemed venues with his stunning skill as both a bandleader and a percussionist. Highlights of this amazingly solid set include the lively "Mambo Gozon," the frenetic "Pa' Los Rumberos," and the utterly infectious "Oye Como Va," later famously covered by Santana. All of these tunes feature boisterous horn charts and an intricate web of percussion, making them instantly appealing. Anyone with even the slightest interest in Latin music will enjoy this excellent 40-track compilation.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Tito Puente

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,176
  • UPC: 828766924329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)