Cal Tjader Plays, Mary Stallings Sings

Cal Tjader Plays, Mary Stallings Sings
2 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32VRA
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Fantasy

Description by

In her recording debut, Mary Stallings more than held her own with one of the best bands Cal Tjader ever led. Originally recorded in 1961.


  • Buy for $0.991.Mighty Rumblin' Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • Buy for $0.993.God Bless The Child
  • Buy for $0.994.Just Squeeze Me
  • Buy for $0.995.I Didn't Know About You
  • Buy for $0.996.I'm Beginning To See The Light
  • Buy for $0.997.Goodbye
  • Buy for $0.998.Why Don't You Do Right?
  • Buy for $0.999.Honeysuckle Rose
  • Buy for $0.9910.I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  • Buy for $0.9911.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • Buy for $0.9912.Mr. Blues
  • Buy for $0.9913.Just In Time
  • Buy for $0.9914.Why Don't You Do Right?

Product Description:

Personnel: Cal Tjader (vibraphone), Mary Stallings (vocals), Lonnie Hewitt, Johnnie Rae, Freddie Schreiber, Victor Venegas, Paul Horn, Clare Fischer.
Originally released on Fantasy (8068).
Personnel: Cal Tjader (vibraphone); Cal Tjader; Lonnie Hewitt (piano, electric piano, keyboards); Victor Venegas, Freddie Schrieber (bass instrument); Mary Stallings (vocals); Paul Horn (flute); Clare Fischer (piano); Johnny Rae (drums).
Recording information: RCA Studios, Hollywood, CA; Sound Recorders, San Francisco, CA.
Arranger: Clare Fischer.
CAL TJADER PLAYS/MARY STALLINGS SINGS is a noteworthy album in that it represents Mary Stallings's recording debut. Only 22 at the time, Stallings sings with a remarkable amount of conviction and control here, displaying the rich tone and heavy gospel influence that would mark all her work. Tjader leads a fine band through a set filled with standards and tunes by Fats Waller and Duke Ellington, and his cool-toned vibes add a shimmering atmosphere to the proceedings. The 2005 reissue boasts excellent remastered sound and two alternative takes from the session.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Cal Tjader

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,805
  • UPC: 025218710626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)