The Doobie Brothers Doobie Brothers - Doobie Brothers

Doobie Brothers - Doobie Brothers
23 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  64XG4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

Lynyrd Skynyrd
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd Extended Versions (Live) (CD) ~ $5.97
  • Peter Frampton
  • Peter Frampton Greatest Hits (CD) $8.34
  • Peter Frampton
  • Peter Frampton Somethin's Happening (CD) ~ $5.98
  • CD Details

    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 1995
    • Label: Warner Bros / WEA


    • 1.Nobody
    • 2.Slippery St. Paul
    • 3.Greenwood Creek
    • 4.It Won't Be Right
    • 5.Travelin' Man
    • 6.Feelin' Down Farther
    • 7.The Master
    • 8.Growin' A Little Each Day
    • 9.Beehive State
    • 10.Closer Every Day
    • 11.Chicago

    Product Description:

    The Doobie Brothers: Dave Shogren (bass instrument); John Hartman , Patrick Simmons, Tom Johnston.
    Personnel: Tom Johnston (vocals, guitar, harp, harmonica, piano); Patrick Simmons (vocals, guitar); Dave Shogren (vocals, organ, keyboards); John Hartman (drums).
    Recording information: Pacific Recording Studios, San Mateo, CA.
    Photographer: Jim Marshall .
    Arrangers: Patrick Simmons; The Doobie Brothers.
    The Doobie Brothers' debut album, released to a largely uncaring world in 1971, produced no hit singles. This seems strange in retrospect. Listening to the album today, one can hear that the Doobies' template (albeit sans the ultra-catchy pop hooks) was already pretty much in place. The band's trademark gospel harmonies are locked in here, as are their shimmering, finger-picked acoustic (and occasional electric) guitars and feel-good post-hippie vibe.
    The album's sedate, almost folk-music feel (check out the concluding acoustic blues, "Chicago") is also somewhat strange when you consider that the Doobie Brothers had spent the preceding years as the house band for the San Jose chapter of the Hell's Angels. In any case, this is a solid and obviously promising album, with the most rocking cut being a cover of Randy Newman's "The Beehive State." Although the album doesn't near the pop-rock heights the band would refine in later years, it is a solid effort with a dash of country, a dash of boogie, and some fine songwriting.

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 23 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
    Get Email Alerts for The Doobie Brothers

    Product Info

    • UPC: 075992621526
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 1 item

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)