Neil Sedaka Best of Neil Sedaka: Stairway to Heaven

Best of Neil Sedaka: Stairway to Heaven
1 rating
SALE: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32W5Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 9, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Camden International


  • 1.Oh! Carol
  • 2.Calendar Girl
  • 3.King of Clowns
  • 4.Next Door to Angel
  • 5.One Way Ticket
  • 6.Breaking up Is Hard to Do
  • 7.Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen
  • 8.Little Devil
  • 9.I Go Ape
  • 10.Stairway to Heaven
  • 11.Diary
  • 12.That's When the Music Takes Me
  • 13.You Mean Everthing to Me
  • 14.Girl For Me
  • 15.I Must Be Dreaming
  • 16.Let's Go Steady Again

Product Description:

This 16-track anthology collects 1950s and '60s hits by Neil Sedaka.
A fine rhythmic pianist with a thin, high voice that he strengthened by multi-tracking, Neil Sedaka turned his Brill Building pop songwriting smarts and doo wop influences into a long and successful career. He had two really distinct commercial peaks, a string of teen hits in the late 1950s and early 1960s and then another run between 1972 and 1975 where he essentially did the exact same thing (and often with the same songs), although at slower tempos, which gave the latter period more of an adult radio feel, albeit with the same sort of lightly-wounded-in-love sentiment of his earlier period. This set, despite the title, is not Neil Sedaka's greatest hits (volume two or otherwise), but it is an interesting portrait of this likeable performer. Included are several tracks drawn from his 1970s comeback like the slowed-down version of "Breaking Up Is Hard to Do" along with rarer oddities like "Cardboard California" and a live medley drawn from a 1974 concert with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at the Royal Festival Hall that spotlights truncated versions of his earlier hits "Oh Carol," "Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen" and "Calendar Girl," among others. It adds up to a warm and casual portrait of Sedaka, but for most listeners, a straight hits collection would probably be a better choice.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Neil Sedaka

Product Info

  • UPC: 828765276627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)