Todd Rundgren Wizard True Star

Wizard True Star
79 ratings
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $13.99
List Price: $20.96
You Save: $6.97 (33% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  GG 936
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 22, 1987
  • Originally Released: 1983
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] career highpoint....All his influences flowed out in one Technicolor tracking shot, taking in vaudeville, soul and electronica."


  • 1.International Feel
  • 2.Never Never Land
  • 3.Tic Tic Tic It Wears Off
  • 4.You Need Your Head
  • 5.Rock And Roll Pussy
  • 6.Dogfight Giggle
  • 7.You Don't Have To Camp Around
  • 8.Flamingo
  • 9.Zen Archer
  • 10.Just Another Onionhead / Dada Dali
  • 11.When The Shit Hits The Fan / Sunset Blvd.
  • 12.Le Feel Internacionale
  • 13.Sometimes I Don't Know What To Feel
  • 14.Does Anybody Love You?
  • 15.I'm So Proud / Ooh Baby Baby / La La Means I Love You / Cool Jerk
  • 16.Hungry For Love
  • 17.I Don't Want To Tie You Down
  • 18.Is It My Name?
  • 19.Just One Victory

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Todd Rundgren, Mark Klingman, John Siegler, Ralph Shockett, Tom Cosgrove, "Buffalo" Bill Gelber.
Principally recorded at Secret Sound, New York.
Digitally remastered by Bill Inglot and Ken Perry (K-Disc).
Composer: Todd Rundgren.
Personnel: Todd Rundgren (vocals, guitar); Rick Derringer (guitar); John Siegler (cello); David Sanborn (saxophone, horns); Barry Rogers (trombone); Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker (horns); Mark "Moogy" Klingman (keyboards); M. Frog Labat (synthesizer); John Siomos (drums).
Recording information: Advantage Studios; Secret Sound Studios, New York, NY; The Secret Sound.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Ralph Shuckett; Tom Cosgrove; Bill Gelber; John Sieger.
A WIZARD, A TRUE STAR is not the most humble album title ever, and the album fits it. In the tradition of sprawling pop messes like the Beatles' WHITE ALBUM or Game Theory's LOLITA NATION, a large part of this album's considerable charm is in its "throw it against the wall and see what sticks" construction.
After three albums with Philadelphia's psych-pop Nazz and an equal number of exquisitely crafted AM-pop solo records, Rundgren felt the need to stretch. So side one of A WIZARD, A TRUE STAR consists of 12 ultra-brief song fragments and burbling synth solos. From the giggly "Rock and Roll Pussy" to the genuinely experimental finale "La Feel Internationale," variety is the watchword. Side two is only slightly more structured, with a 10-minute medley of '60s R&B hits dominating. Weird but often fascinating.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 79 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Todd Rundgren

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,131
  • UPC: 081227086428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)