Merle Haggard Best of The '90s, Volume 02

Best of The '90s, Volume 02
1 rating
Price: $10.25
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JGDD
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Curb Mod Afw


  • Buy for $1.291.Way Back In The Mountains
  • Buy for $1.292.Troubador
  • Buy for $1.293.In My Next Life
  • Buy for $1.294.Bye, Bye, Travelin' Blues
  • Buy for $1.295.Swinging Doors
  • Buy for $1.296.Lucky Old Colorado
  • Buy for $1.297.Never No More Blues
  • Buy for $1.298.A Bar In Bakersfield
  • Buy for $1.299.My Home Is In The Street
  • Buy for $1.2910.Too Many Highways
  • Buy for $1.2911.If Anyone Ought To Know

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Merle Haggard, Tony Toliver.
Producers: James Stroud, Mary Yeary, Merle Haggard, Abe Manuel, Jr.
Photographer: Keith Carter.
The second volume of this Curb Records '90s retrospective features both some minor gems ("Troubador"), and some fairly maudlin cuts ("In My Next Life"), but in the main what's on offer here is a welcome series of vignettes and observations from 30 years of Haggard's life. "A Bar in Bakersfield" and "Bye, Bye Travelin' Blues" bookend his career, the former a might-have-been document of his early years playing in his home town, the latter a reality-based ditty about the vagaries of the road.
He goes from traditional barroom songs like "Swingin' Doors" to a potentially saccharine song about a little homeless girl ("My Home Is in the Street") and brings the same sense of authenticity and compassion to both of them; indeed, there's a directness in the best of Haggard's writing that echoes Hank Williams'. This directness probably helped play no small part in Haggard's Williams-like success, as Merle scored 71 Top-10 hits, 38 of which reached Number One. Armed with one of country music's sweetest, most recognizable voices and a dogged stubbornness in the face of adversity, it's little surprise that Merle's career has lasted as long as it has.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Merle Haggard

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 24,755
  • UPC: 715187796720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)