Lou Christie EnLIGHTNIN'ment: The Best of Lou Christie

EnLIGHTNIN'ment: The Best of Lou Christie
38 ratings
SALE: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  KJRD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1984
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.The Gypsy Cried
  • 2.Two Faces Have I
  • 3.Summer Snow
  • 4.Mr. Tenor Man
  • 5.Self Expression (The Kids On The Street Will Never Give In)
  • 6.Outside The Gates of Heaven
  • 7.How Many Teardrops
  • 8.Shy Boy
  • 9.Trapeze
  • 10.Lightnin' Strikes
  • 11.Cryin' In The Streets
  • 12.Rhapsody In The Rain
  • 13.Du Ronda
  • 14.Watch Your Heart After Dark
  • 15.If My Car Could Only Talk
  • 16.Shake Hands and Walk Away Crying
  • 17.Back To The Days of The Romans
  • 18.I'm Gonna Make You Mine

Product Description:

Producers include: Nick Cenci, Charles Calello, George Goldner, Jack Nitzsche, Stan Vincent.
Compilation producer: Bill Inglot.
Tracks recorded between 1962 and 1969. Includes liner notes by Harry Young.
Lou Christie only had about a half-dozen great songs to his name, which is still a better average than most pop singers. And what a singer he was, putting that freaky falsetto to its ultimate use on the glorious "Lightnin' Strikes," the ultimate chart-buster of 1965! "Lightnin' Strikes " was co-written by Christie's Pittsburgh mentor and muse, the bohemian songwriter-composer Twyla Herbert, who also co-wrote his early falsetto-driven hits, "The Gypsy Cried" and "Two Faces Have I." They then collaborated on the even more sexually ecstatic "Rhapsody In The Rain," which needed a word change from the too physical "making out in the rain" to the ostensibly more demure "making love." (The good folks at Rhino have restored the original version.) Christie had to wait untill 1969 for his last hit, "I'm Gonna Make you Mine," to be covered by Alex Chilton and also included on this definitive, great-sounding collection.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 38 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 EnLightnin'ment (lou christie) Music Lover: from Brunswick, GA -- September, 3, 2006

What a sensational cd! Soaring vocals, incredible octaves! What a set of "pipes" on this guy! The memories roar back with his distinctive falsetto. This one's a must for all "oldies" collectors! He's EVEN better in person! This one's top -notch and number one in my collection of over 3,00 CD's!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Lou Christie

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227024628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)