Talking Heads Talking Heads '77

Talking Heads '77
44 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JG5H
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: February 16, 1987
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.104
"With his distressed falsetto, David Byrne is new wave's first definitive voice."
Uncut - p.82
5 stars out of 5 -- "[The] remarkable cohabitation of painterly, arty ambitions and fascination with the lissom qualities of the groove can be seen from their very first single."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.116
3 stars out of 5 -- "Their claustrophobic tunes of social unease, mathematical arrangements and front man David Byrne's self-conscious take on mundane events elevated them far beyond what would become new wave."


  • 1.Uh-Oh, Love Comes To Town
  • 2.New Feeling
  • 3.Tentative Decisions
  • 4.Happy Day
  • 5.Who Is It?
  • 6.No Compassion
  • 7.The Book I Read
  • 8.Don't Worry About The Government
  • 9.First Week / Last Week...Carefree
  • 10.Psycho Killer
  • 11.Pulled Up

Product Description:

Talking Heads: David Byrne (vocals, guitar); Jerry Harrison (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Tina Weymouth (bass); Chris Frantz (drums).
Recorded at Sundragon Studios, New York, New York.
Personnel: Jerry Harrison (vocals, guitar, keyboards); David Byrne (vocals, guitar); Tina Weymouth (vocals); Chris Frantz (drums).
Recording information: Sun dragon Studios, New York, NY; Sundragon Studios, N.Y.C.
Photographer: Mick Rock .
When they burst out of the New York underground/CBGB's movement, the Heads stood apart from the pack because not only were they unlike anything that gone before, they were even anomalous to their contemporaries. A million miles from the detached irony of Blondie or the willful primitivism of the Ramones, the Talking Heads virtually invented geek-rock, setting the stage for everyone from the Violent Femmes to They Might Be Giants. Lyrically, David Byrne came off as the guy who thought too much about everything. Fortunately, he also happened to be a unique visionary, whose quirky, hyper-cerebral modernism echoed the work of poet John Ashbery and "serious" composer Robert Ashley.
All this high-mindedness doesn't detract from the infectious rock & roll appeal of the tunes on the band's debut album, though. Their twitchy, preppies-on-amphetamines rhythms and semi-neurotic gestalt fueled tunes like twisted anthem "Psycho Killer" and the jubilant "Pulled Up." Byrne's high, yelping tenor was the perfect complement to the band's tightly-wound but kinetic rhythms, and 77 is an auspicious debut.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 44 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Talking Heads

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,141
  • UPC: 075992742320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)