The Blues Brothers The Definitive Collection (Import)

The Definitive Collection (Import)
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
31 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  64VVV
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Products with a similar style:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.I Can't Turn You Loose (Opening)
  • 2.Hey Bartender
  • 3.Messin' With The Kid
  • 4.(I Got Everything I Need) Almost
  • 5.Rubber Biscuit
  • 6.I Don't Know
  • 7.Soul Man
  • 8.Who's Making Love
  • 9.Do You Love Me / Mother Popcorn (You Got To Have A Mother For Me)
  • 10.Guilty
  • 11.Riot In Cell Block Number Nine
  • 12.From The Bottom
  • 13.Going Back To Miami
  • 14.Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
  • 15.Expressway To Your Heart
  • 16.Sweet Home Chicago
  • 17.I Can't Turn You Loose (Closing)
  • 18.Shake Your Tailfeather
  • 19.Think
  • 20.Gimme Some Lovin'

Product Description:

The Blues Brothers: John Belushi (vocals); Dan Aykroyd (vocals, harmonica).
Additional personnel includes: Aretha Franklin (vocals); Steve Cropper, Matt Murphy (guitar); Lou Marini, Tom Scott (saxophone, background vocals); Tom Malone (saxophone, trombone, trumpet, background vocals); Alan Rubin (trumpet, background vocals); Ray Charles (keyboards, vocals); Murphy Dunne, Paul Shaffer (keyboards, background vocals); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Steve Jordan (drums, background vocals); Willie Hall (drums).
Compilation producer: Michael A. Mazzarella.
Tracks 1-13 & 17 recorded live at The Universal Amphitheater, Los Angeles, California; tracks 18-20 recorded at Universal Recording, Chicago, Illinois.
Digitally remastered by Joe Gastwirt (Ocean View Digital, Los Angeles, California).
It isn't exactly difficult to scoff at the Blues Brothers -- beginning your musical career as a sketch on Saturday Night Live is not the best way to develop artistic credibility, and while Elwood Blues wasn't too shabby a harp player, his brother, Joliet Jake, sang only marginally better than that guy who used to impersonate Joe Cocker on late-night television. But no one ever bought a Blues Brothers album expecting a life-changing musical experience -- these guys were there to put on a show, and putting on a great show is just what they did. It helped that Dan Aykroyd and John Belushi obviously loved the music, and they knew how to put together a killer band (any fan with the vision to hire Steve Cropper, Donald "Duck" Dunn, Steve Jordan, and Matt "Guitar" Murphy" to cover classic blues and R&B deserves credit for good taste, if nothing else). The Definitive Collection pulls together highlights from the band's debut live album, Briefcase Full of Blues, as well as cuts from the soundtrack to The Blues Brothers movie (including contributions from Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin) and the second, rather less-remembered live set Made in America. Anyone who buys this without owning a decent Otis Redding or Sam & Dave set first ought to be ashamed of themselves, but as a one-stop overview of the work of two dedicated R&B fans having a great time playing the songs they love, you could hardly do better than The Definitive Collection. Play it loud and dance a lot -- John would have wanted it that way. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Blues Brothers

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 110,629
  • UPC: 075678242823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm