Chris Connor A Jazz Date With Chris Connor / Chris Craft

A Jazz Date With Chris Connor / Chris Craft
7 ratings
SALE: $13.25
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.73 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FRJQ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Atlantic Mod Afw


  • 1.Moon Ray
  • 2.Poor Little Rich Girl
  • 3.Just Squeeze Me
  • 4.Fancy Free
  • 5.It's A Most Unusual Day
  • 6.All I Need Is You
  • 7.It Only Happens When I Dance With You
  • 8.Lonely Town
  • 9.Everything I've Got
  • 10.Driftwood
  • 11.I'm Shooting High
  • 12.My Shining Hour
  • 13.Moonlight In Vermont
  • 14.Blow, Gabriel, Blow
  • 15.Here Lies Love
  • 16.Be A Clown
  • 17.Good For Nothin' (But Love)
  • 18.On The First Warm Day
  • 19.Chinatown My Chinatown
  • 20.One Love Affair
  • 21.The Night We Called It A Day
  • 22.Johnny One Note
  • 23.Lover Man
  • 24.Be My All

Product Description:

Personnel: Chris Connor (vocals); Al Cohn, Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone); Joe Wilder (trumpet); Sam Most (flute); Eddie Costa (vibraphone); Ralph Sharon (piano); Joe Puma (guitar); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Osie Johnson (drums); Chano Pozo (bongos); Mongo Santamaria (congas).
Recorded in New York, New York from November to December 1956. Originally released as Atlantic (1286).
Personnel: Chris Connor (vocals); Bobby Jaspar (flute); Al Epstein (English horn, bass clarinet); Stan Free (piano); Mundell Lowe (guitar); George Duvuvier, Percy Heath (bass); Ed Shaughnessy (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York from March to May 1958. Originally released as Atlantic (1290). Includes liner notes by Howard Cook.
Personnel: Chris Connor (vocals); Joe Puma, Mundell Lowe (guitar); Sam Most, Bobby Jaspar (flute); Al Epstein (bass clarinet, English horn); Al Cohn, Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone); Joe Wilder (trumpet); Ralph Sharon, Stan Free (piano); Eddie Costa (vibraphone); Osie Johnson, Ed Shaughnessy (drums); Mongo Santamaria (congas); Chano Pozo ( Luciano "Chano" Pozo Gonzales) (bongos).
Audio Remasterer: Gene Paul.
Liner Note Author: Howard Cook.
Recording information: 11/16/1956-06/23/1958.
Photographer: Lee Friedlander.
Arrangers: Ralph Sharon; Stan Free.
This reissue makes available two Chris Connor albums, A JAZZ DATE WITH CHRIS CONNOR and CHRIS CRAFT. Both date from her Atlantic Records prime, circa 1958. As produced by Nesuhi Ertegun, these are pure jazz sessions, spruced up a bit by Eddie Costa's vibes on A JAZZ DATE and enlivened by the fine guitarist Mundell Lowe on CRAFT. Connor is an airy yet completely unmannered singer. Her dry timbre is the equivalent of tenorman Al Cohn's vibratoless abstract sound. (Cohn himself is among the participants on the first album.)
Both sessions give full reign to Connor's penchant for material just off the beaten track. While not exactly esoteric, such songs as Artie Shaw's exotic "Moon Ray" and Leonard Bernstein's "Lonely Town" are just unfamiliar enough to suggest a journey to some undiscovered place. Even when a melody is better known ("Moonlight In Vermont," "Lover Man"), Connor's steady refusal to pander to sentimentality allow one to listen with fresh ears.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Chris Connor

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,206
  • UPC: 081227174729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)