Curtis Mayfield Curtis (Deluxe)

Curtis (Deluxe)
20 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.83 Limited Time Only
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.16 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HJ7E
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: August 15, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/3/00, p.53
4 stars out of 5 - "Cut for cut, Mayfield's solo debut is stronger than SUPERFLY....Rare items: the achingly empathetic 'Other Side of Town' and 'Miss Black America,' featuring one of his many children."
Q - 12/00, p.144
4 stars out of 5 - "...It wedded the big issues of the day to peerless songwriting that yielded such enduring classics as 'Move On Up'..."


  • 1.If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go, (Don't Worry)
  • 2.The Other Side Of Town
  • 3.The Makings Of You
  • 4.We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
  • 5.Move On Up
  • 6.Miss Black America
  • 7.Wild And Free
  • 8.Give It Up
  • 9.Power To The People
  • 10.Underground
  • 11.Ghetto Child
  • 12.Readings In Astrology
  • 13.Suffer
  • 14.Miss Black America
  • 15.The Makings Of You
  • 16.If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go, (Don't Worry) [Backing Tracks]
  • 17.If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go, (Don't Worry) [Single Version]

Product Description:

Recorded at RCA Studios, Chicago, Illinois. Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Curtis Mayfield (vocals); Don Simmons (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Daniel Hersch.
Liner Note Authors: David Nathan ; Michael Wesley Johnson.
Recording information: RCA Studios, Chicago, IL.
Photographer: Bob Cato.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Elliott Golub; Sol Bobrob; John Ross.
Arrangers: Gary Slabo; Riley Hampton.
CURTIS is the first solo album by R&B/soul legend Curtis Mayfield. After leaving the Impressions, Mayfield began to write lyrics that were more politically charged. With the 1970 release of CURTIS, he became one of the most important socially conscious artists of his generation. The album's opener, "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below We're All Going to Go" uses racial epithets openly, as Mayfield asserts the shiftlessness of America. Set to a funky groove, with smart horn arrangements and wah-wah guitar, this song is a brazen attack on social mores, racism, the Vietnam War, religious impropriety, and Nixon-era politics.
"We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue" is another track that poignantly examines the race and class struggles of urban America. This song is made up of more than just a static groove; its tempos shift midway through and powerful brass figures, timpani punctuations, and harp glissandos soon dominate the mix. Also featuring the powerful "Move On Up," CURTIS is a classic soul record, and its relevance is amplified by its quest for racial harmony and its bold anti-establishment stance. (Note: The 2000 reissue of CURTIS features nine bonus tracks.)

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Curtis Mayfield

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,910
  • UPC: 081227993221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)