Jay & Kai (24-Bit with Bonus Tracks)

Jay & Kai (24-Bit with Bonus Tracks)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32WV2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Savoy Jazz

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 9/96, p.59
4.5 Stars - Very Good/Excellent - "The first, and one of the best, of many collaborations by the two trombonists...notable not only for their sweet harmonies and interplay on the leads, but Johnson's pearly solos, Winding's blattier ones and the needle-fine, single-noters of light-fingered guitarist Billy Bauer..."


  • 1.Bernie's Tune
  • 2.Lament
  • 3.Blues for Trombones
  • 4.Major
  • 5.Yesterdays
  • 6.Boneology (Bonus Track)
  • 7.Co-Op
  • 8.Reflections
  • 9.Blues in Two's
  • 10.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 11.Boy Next Door
  • 12.I Could Write a Book (Bonus Track)
  • 13.Carioca (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Personnel: J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding (trombone); Leo Parker (baritone saxophone); Wally Cirillo, Hank Jones, Lou Stein (piano); Billy Bauer (guitar); Charles Mingus, Al Lucas, Eddie Safranski (bass); Kenny Clarke, Shadow Wilson, Tiny Kahn (drums); Al Young (bongos, timbales).
Producers: Ozzie Cadena, Teddy Reig, Lee Magid.
Recorded between 1947 & 1952.
Personnel includes: J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding (trombone); Billy Bauer (guitar); Charles Mingus (bass).
This is part of Denon's 20-Bit Master Transfer Collection.
The music on this Savoy disc is excellent but the packaging is rather dumb. Rather than reissue all 12 selections from a pair of 1954 sessions that led to the birth of the J.J. Johnson-Kai Winding two-trombone quintet (renditions that also include either pianist Wally Cirillo or guitarist Billy Bauer along with bassist Charles Mingus and drummer Kenny Clarke), there are just eight on this CD along with a Johnson track from 1947 ("Yesterdays") and three of the four Winding performances (in a quintet with pianist Lou Stein) from 1952. Sure to frustrate completists, this reissue is still worth picking up if found at a budget price, for the music contains plenty of worthy trombone solos. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for J.J. Johnson

Product Info

  • UPC: 795041722027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)