Charles Mingus Jazz Composers Workshop (24-Bit with Bonus Tracks)

Jazz Composers Workshop (24-Bit with Bonus Tracks)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32WSG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Savoy Jazz

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 9/93, p.38
4 Stars - Very Good - "...[on JAZZ COMPOSERS WORKSHOP Mingus is] adventurous and well-honed....'Gregorian Chant' and 'Getting Together' support the view that Mingus was a progenitor of free jazz..."


  • Buy for $1.291.Purple Heart
  • Buy for $1.292.Gregorian Chant
  • Buy for $1.293.Eulogy For Rudy Williams
  • Buy for $1.294.Tea For Two
  • Buy for $1.295.Smog L.A.
  • Buy for $1.296.Level Seven
  • Buy for $1.297.Transeason
  • Buy for $1.298.Rose Geranium
  • Buy for $1.299.Getting Together

Product Description:

Personnel: Charles Mingus (bass); John La Porta (alto saxophone, clarinet); Teo Macero, George Barrow (tenor & baritone saxophones); Wally Cirillo, Mal Waldron (piano); Rudy Nichols, Kenny Clarke (drums).
Recorded on October 31, 1954 and January 30, 1955. Originally released on Savoy (12059).
Digitally remastered at the Denon facility, Madison, Georgia.
Contains 2 bonus tracks.
Personnel: John LaPorta (clarinet, alto saxophone); Teo Macero, George Barrow (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Wally Cirillo (piano); Rudy Nichols, Kenny Clarke (drums).
Liner Note Author: Lew Herman Smythe.
Recording information: Rudy Van Gelder's Studio, Hackensack, NJ (10/31/1954-01/30/1955).
One of the finest records Mingus made with the Workshop, JAZZ COMPOSER'S WORKSHOP displays the musical precision, shifting, improvised structures and balance between form and freedom for which the bassist's experimental outfit was renowned. Less atonal than some Workshop efforts, tracks like "Purple Heart" and "Smog L.A." hearken back to theme-driven songs with more or less traditional chord patterns. In "Gregarian Chant" and "Eulogy for Rudy Williams, however, the approach is more abstract as Mingus leads his three sax men, pianist and drummer through the evolving space of the piece, applying chords and floating melodic sections like layers of paint.
Elsewhere, other techniques are employed. "Tea For Two" takes the chords of the well-known ditty and piles them with improvisations and fragmented strains from songs like "Body and Soul," "Perdido" and other subtly evoked melodies. "Getting Together" sounds like a roomful of eloquent conversationalists with the voices of saxophones. The well-balanced mix of styles, structure and experimentation makes this particular Workshop release one to watch out for.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Charles Mingus

Product Info

  • UPC: 795041718921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)