Alison Brown Replay

10% OFF
Rating 5.0
5 ratings
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  COMP 974321
on most orders of $75
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Compass Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 5/02, pp.114,116
"...A deeply satisfying recording that is filled with intelligent, well-considered and very appealing music."


  • Buy for $0.991.Red Balloon
  • Buy for $0.992.Lorelei
  • Buy for $0.993.Late on Arrival
  • Buy for $0.994.Daytime TV
  • Buy for $0.995.My Favorite Marsha
  • Buy for $0.996.Spiderman Theme
  • Buy for $0.997.Wonderful Sea Voyage, The (Of Holy St. Brendan)
  • Buy for $0.998.Without Anastasia
  • Buy for $0.999.The Inspector
  • Buy for $0.9910.Chicken Road
  • Buy for $0.9911.G Bop
  • Buy for $0.9912.?touff‚e Brutus?
  • Buy for $0.9913.Shoot the Dog
  • Buy for $0.9914.Mambo Banjo
  • Buy for $0.9915.Promise of Spring, The - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Alison Brown (guitar, banjo); John R. Burr (piano); Garry West (bass); Kendrick Freeman (drums).
Recorded at Sound Emporium, Flying Lady, Naughty Pine Studios, Nashville, Tennessee. Includes liner notes by Parke Puterbaugh.
Personnel: Alison Brown (guitar, banjo); John Burr (piano); Kendrick Freeman (drums).
Audio Mixer: Dave Sinko.
Photographer: Fred Hayes.
While Alison Brown has received credit for her banjo innovations, she's often been crowded out by hotshot picker Bela Fleck. That's unfortunate, because there's more than enough room for two pioneering banjo players, and besides, both players have different gifts to offer. First of all, the Alison Brown Quartet approaches acoustic jazz from a different, perhaps more traditional, standpoint than Fleck & the Flecktones. Brown's banjo vies with John R. Burr's piano for fancy lead work, while both are superbly backed by bassist Garry West and drummer Kendrick Freeman. While the band doesn't mind playing lighter pieces like "The Wonderful Sea Voyage" and "My Favorite Marsha," they can also kick out the bluegrass jams on a cut like "Late on Arrival." This makes the unit more muscular than the Flecktones. Burr's piano also adds lots of energy, whether bopping along on "Etouffee Brutus?" or laying down bluesy ragtime on "Shoot the Dog." West and Freeman's ability to conquer every style from good old mountain music to Brazilian rhythms assures that the band moves forward with one voice. The band also displays a healthy sense of humor on "Spiderman Theme," a tune that'll have the listener climbing the walls, while a more serious side takes over on "Without Anastasia," a piece resembling a Bach fugue. It would be remiss to not mention "Daytime TV" and "The Inspector," two pieces jumping with spontaneous energy and featuring some great guitar work by Brown. One may not be able to please all of the fans all of the time, but Replay should please most of Alison Brown's fans most of the time. The Alison Brown Quartet distinguish themselves from competitors by building a solid musical framework and taking flight from there. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Alison Brown

Product Info:

  • UPC: 766397432120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item