Neil Young Live Rust

Live Rust
69 ratings
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.44 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $2.54 (21% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  J6QJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Reprise / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/93, p.107
5 Stars - Indispensable - "...LIVE RUST really captures the essence of Neil Young, from aching fragility to the overwhelming power he can release in love or rage..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 11/01, p.151
"...Essential....equal parts noise and poignancy..."


  • 1.Sugar Mountain
  • 2.I Am A Child
  • 3.Comes A Time
  • 4.After The Gold Rush
  • 5.My My, Hey Hey (Out of The Blue)
  • 6.When You Dance I Can Really Love
  • 7.The Loner
  • 8.The Needle and The Damage Done
  • 9.Lotta Love
  • 10.Sedan Delivery
  • 11.Powderfinger
  • 12.Cortez The Killer
  • 13.Cinnamon Girl
  • 14.Like A Hurricane
  • 15.Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
  • 16.Tonight's The Night

Product Description:

Neil Young & Crazy Horse: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Frank Sampedro (guitar, keyboards); Billy Talbot (bass); Ralph Molina (drums).
Producers: David Briggs, Tim Mulligan, Bernard Shakey.
Personnel: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Ralph Molina (vocals, drums); Frank "Poncho" Sampedro (guitar, strings, keyboards).
Recording information: Record Plant's Recording Truck (1978).
Director: Elliot Roberts.
Photographers: Paul Goldsmith; Dick Pearce.
In the fall of 1978, Neil Young and Crazy Horse undertook a tour that mixed in songs off of what became RUST NEVER SLEEPS with a variety of older material. The stage set included oversize amps and a road crew cloaked not unlike Star Wars' Jawas, making this tour's distinctions as visual as they were aural. The film and recording of this tour were released as LIVE RUST. The show starts out with Neil Young solo, using acoustic guitar, harmonica and piano to perform the country-folk "Sugar Mountain," "I Am A Child," "After The Gold Rush" and "Comes A Time," the title track of the record released shortly before the tour started.
Unlike his peers, Young embraced the punk scene by writing "My My, Hey Hey (Out Of The Blue)," his tribute to Sex Pistol Johnny Rotten, which wrapped up the acoustic section of the show. Other new material debuted on this tour included "Sedan Delivery," "Powderfinger" and "Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)." These tunes benefited from the might of Crazy Horse, whose punch provided particularly potent on "Cinnamon Girl," "Like A Hurricane" and the sobering "Tonight's The Night."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 69 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Neil Young

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,443
  • UPC: 075992725026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)