Dwight Yoakam Last Chance For A Thousand Years - Dwight Yoakam's Greatest Hits From The '90's

Last Chance For A Thousand Years - Dwight
83 ratings
SALE: $7.18
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.80 (10% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SQHY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: May 18, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/99, p.135
3 stars (out of 5) - "...Yoakum's tunes fast forward into the future whilst waving to the ghosts of a young Presley, Johnny Cash and Roy Orbison....New age honkytonk gems..."


  • 1.Turn It On, Turn It Up, Turn Me Loose
  • 2.You're The One
  • 3.It Only Hurts When I Cry
  • 4.The Heart That You Own
  • 5.Suspicious Minds
  • 6.Thinking About Leaving
  • 7.A Thousand Miles From Nowhere
  • 8.Ain't That Lonely Yet
  • 9.Fast As You
  • 10.Pocket Of A Clown
  • 11.Sorry You Asked
  • 12.Nothing
  • 13.I'll Go Back To Her
  • 14.Crazy Little Thing Called Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Pete Anderson (electric & baritone guitars, electric sitar, harmonica); Al Perkins (lap steel & pedal steel guitars, banjo, dobro); Tom Brumley (steel guitar); Scott Joss (mandolin, fiddle); Tim O'Brien (mandolin, background vocals); Don Reed (fiddle); Skip Edwards (keyboards); Charles Domanico (acoustic bass); Taras Prodaniuk (4- & 6-string basses); Jeff Donovan (drums); Lenny Castro (percussion); Scott Humphrey (drum programming); Tommy Funderburk, Jim Lauderdale, Roger Miller, Emily Saliers, Amy Ray, Beth Anderson, Carl Jackson, Jim Haas (background vocals).
Engineers include: Judy Clapp.
"Crazy Little Thing Called Love" was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Male Country Vocal Performance.
Discounting left fielders like Lyle Lovett and Steve Earle, one could make a convincing case for Yoakam as the lone savior of mainstream country in the '90s. Modernizing the Bakersfield sound of Buck Owens (who gets a mention in the opening cut "Turn It On, Turn It Up, Turn Me Loose"), Yoakam combined a traditionalist twang with a rocker's bite and some spectacular songs for that rare marriage of commercial and aesthetic success. This compilation of Yoakam's '90s hits proves that, like any good country singer, Yoakam excels at evocations of heartbreak--he plays the lovelorn sap to perfection (and with just a pinch of irony) on "Pocket of a Clown," "Sorry You Asked?" and others, over classic honky tonk arrangements.
His rock & roll side emerges on the blazing "Fast As You" and the natural fit of the previously unreleased neo-rockabilly "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" (yes, the Queen song). The other bonus cut, Waylon Jennings's tearjerker "I'll Go Back To Her" points to Yoakam's country outlaw roots. The memorability of each song is a testament to Yoakam's compositional savvy and LAST CHANCE is a perfect way to get acquainted with the man who brought integrity to country radio.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 83 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Dwight Yoakam

Product Info

  • UPC: 093624738923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)