T. Rex Electric Warrior (Expanded & Remastered)

Electric Warrior (Expanded & Remastered)
70 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $16.19
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SQFQ
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: March 16, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/6/72, pp.64-66
"...he plays to the post-J.F.K. set, yet with enough decadence and sarcasm for any war baby to hum along....Marc is one of the eternally precocious, fated to live outside the world of adults forever..."
Q - 9/01, pp.137-8
4 stars out of 5 - "...Glistening, seemingly extra-terrestrial prettiness....bewitching stuff..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.101
3 stars out of 5 -- "Bolan suited the careerist '70s, and rarely sounded better than he did on the second T.Rex album....The album's fey charm and power is undeniable."
Mojo (Publisher) - 10/01, p.133
"...This music may even sound better than it did at the time: stripped of baggage, it's the kind of pop-rock deluxe which is, these days, in short supply..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.91
"ELECTRIC WARRIOR captures the group at a time when there was still a trace of innocent pleasure left..."


  • 1.Mambo Sun
  • 2.Cosmic Dancer
  • 3.Jeepster
  • 4.Monolith
  • 5.Lean Woman Blues
  • 6.Get It On (Bang A Gong)
  • 7.Planet Queen
  • 8.Girl
  • 9.The Motivator
  • 10.Life's A Gas
  • 11.Rip Off
  • 12.There Was A Time
  • 13.Raw Ramp
  • 14.Planet Queen
  • 15.Hot Love
  • 16.Woodland Rock
  • 17.King Of The Mountain Cometh
  • 18.The T. Rex Electric Warrior Interview

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Nikki Sudden, Cliff McLenehen & Bill Legend.
Includes liner notes by Nikki Sudden, Cliff McLenehan and Bill Legend.
T. Rex: Marc Bolan, Mickey Finn .
Personnel: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar); Mickey Finn (vocals, percussion); Ian McDonald (saxophone); Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Will Legend (drums); Howard Kaylan, Mark Volman (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Steve Currie (bass instrument); Howard Kaylan, Ian McDonald , Mark Volman, Burt Collins, Will Legend.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Authors: S‚amus Egan; Bill Inglot.
Photographers: Ed Caraeff; Kieron "Spud" Murphy.
Unknown Contributor Role: Dann Davis.
Prior to ELECTRIC WARRIOR's release, T. Rex (or, as it had mostly been known, Tyrannosaurus Rex) was a folk-rock duo that played acoustic guitar and bongos augmented by the occasional electric and full drum kit. While some of the hippie-prophet philosophy that dominated Tyrannosaurus Rex's music can still be heard here (especially on the dreamy geneology of "Cosmic Dancer"), ELECTRIC WARRIOR, for the most part, represents a revolution in attitude and approach. Singer/songwriter/guitarist Marc Bolan expanded the band here for a full rock sound, and focused on lean, hook-heavy pop songs that relied on slinky grooves and the riveting energy of early rock & roll. Married to Bolan's cheeky sexuality and theatrical flair, the results were undeniable.
From the mid-tempo thump of "Mambo Sun" to the crashing yowl of "Rip Off," ELECTRIC WARRIOR is fuzzy, nasty, and immediately appealing. Songs like "Jeepster" and "Bang A Gong" pump straight from the elemental heart of rock & roll, yet the songs are fleshed out beautifully with strings, handclaps, backup vocals, and Tony Visconti's expansive production. Bolan's glitzy, sexy aesthetic directly sparked the glam movement (he was a huge influence on David Bowie and the creation of his Ziggy Stardust persona), while his punchy, back-to-basics approach also presaged the stripped-down, three-minute song attack of the Ramones and the punk movement in the later '70s. As a result, ELECTRIC WARRIOR can be seen as one of the most enduring and quietly influential records in the rock canon.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 70 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for T. Rex

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227611125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)