Joni Mitchell Songs of A Prairie Girl

Songs of A Prairie Girl
15 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.79 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1.19 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  RHI 74634
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 26, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.120
4 stars out of 5 - "[A]n esoteric yet oddly enthralling route into her oeuvre..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.130
4 stars out of 5 - "[With] a previously unreleased, cinematic update of 'Paprika Plains'."


  • 1.Urge For Going
  • 2.Tea Leaf Prophecy (Lay Down Your Arms)
  • 3.Cherokee Louise
  • 4.Ray's Dad's Cadillac
  • 5.Let The Wind Carry Me
  • 6.Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
  • 7.Raised On Robbery
  • 8.Paprika Plains
  • 9.Song For Sharon
  • 10.River
  • 11.Chinese Cafe / Unchained Cafe
  • 12.Harlem In Havana
  • 13.Come In From The Cold

Product Description:

Personnel: Joni Mitchell (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, keyboards); Larry Klein (guitar, keyboards, bass instrument, bass guitar, percussion); Steve Lukather (electric guitar); Tom Scott (woodwinds, horns); Wayne Shorter (soprano saxophone); Kenny Wheeler (trumpet, flugelhorn); Herbie Hancock (piano); Billy Preston (Hammond b-3 organ); Jaco Pastorius (bass instrument); John Guerin, Manu Katch‚ (drums, percussion); Brian Blade, Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Don Alias (shaker); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Alex Acu¤a (bells); Lisa Coleman, Wendy Melvoin, Brenda Russell (background vocals).
SONGS OF A PRAIRIE GIRL could not even remotely be described as a "hits" collection, nor is it a career summary, or even an examination of a particular period in Joni Mitchell's discography. Rather, it's an esoterically compiled anthology whose ostensible theme is a wintry feel evocative of Mitchell's Canadian homeland. Ultimately, the effect is simply one of putting some of Mitchell's most interesting songs in one place regardless of era, style, or relative popularity. How else to describe a disc that encompasses the murky noir of the late-1990s track "Harlem in Havana;" the quirky, fusion-tinged '70s tune "Don Juan's Restless Daughter;" and the poignant, folkie song poetry of "Urge for Going," a '60s single never before included on an album? There are a couple of more well known songs here ("Raised on Robbery," "River"), but they're surrounded by just as many fascinating obscurities. Assembled by Mitchell herself, this collection is an intriguing snapshot into the complex world of a mercurial talent.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Joni Mitchell

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227463427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item


Rock & Pop: Singer / Songwriter Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)