The Kinks The Kink Kronikles (2-CD)

The Kink Kronikles (2-CD)
49 ratings
Price: $21.59
List Price: $23.99
You Save: $2.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359XR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 10, 1989
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Reprise / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/25/72, p.64
"...Ultimately, the Kinks are one of the most underdog groups of all time....That they've made some extraordinary music all along hardly hurts the case...the Kinks are one of the greatest groups of all time..."
Very good compilation.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Victoria
  • 2.The Village Green Preservation Society
  • 3.Berkeley Mews
  • 4.Holiday In Waikiki
  • 5.Willesden Green
  • 6.This Is Where I Belong
  • 7.Waterloo Sunset
  • 8.David Watts
  • 9.Deadend Street
  • 10.Shangri - La
  • 11.Autumn Almanac
  • 12.Sunny Afternoon
  • 13.Get Back In Line
  • 14.Did You See His Name?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Fancy
  • 2.Wonderboy
  • 3.Apeman
  • 4.King Kong
  • 5.Mr. Pleasant
  • 6.God's Children
  • 7.Death of A Clown
  • 8.Lola
  • 9.Mindless Child of Motherhood
  • 10.Polly
  • 11.Big Black Smoke
  • 12.Susannah's Still Alive
  • 13.She's Got Everything
  • 14.Days

Product Description:

The Kinks: Ray Davies, Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); Pete Quaife, Mick Dalton (bass); Mick Avory (drums).
Personnel: Dave Davies (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Ray Davies (vocals, guitar); Mick Avory (drums).
Liner Note Author: John Mendelsohn.
This set was originally released in 1972, just after The Kinks regained their footing on the charts with "Lola." THE KINKS KRONIKLES still stands as one of the finest examples of a collection that touches on favorites while rescuing otherwise lost or forgotten songs which never made it onto albums or were released when no one was listening. The number and quality of songs that never made it to North American shores is astounding. "Dead End Street" is a case in point--the band even produced a promotional film for this number, but it was never even released in America. Several selections are from the PERCY soundtrack; others are from on assorted EPs and 45s. Ending his essay with "God save the Kinks," music critic John Mendelsohn's notes are the perfect mix of educated listener and unabashed fan. Far from being a catchall, THE KINK KRONIKLES is a great album in its own right. Exhilarating for both the informed follower and the newly arriving curious, this is an essential release.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 49 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Kinks

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,378
  • UPC: 075992745727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)