Grateful Dead Fillmore East, 2/11/69 (2-CD)

Fillmore East, 2/11/69 (2-CD)
32 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $23.22
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $1.76 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359WK
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 31, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/9/98, p.71
"...the classic band at an improvisatory peak performing at a favorite haunt....the group essays pre-WORKINGMAN'S DEAD repertoire with the kind of intensity that would have shorted the circuits of Jerry and the boys 20 years later." - Rating: B+

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
  • 2.Cryptical Envelopment
  • 3.The Other One
  • 4.Cryptical Envelopment
  • 5.Doin' That Rag
  • 6.I'm A King Bee
  • 7.Turn On Your Lovelight
  • 8.Hey Jude

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Dupree's Diamond Blues
  • 3.Mountains Of The Moon
  • 4.Dark Star
  • 5.St. Stephen
  • 6.The Eleven
  • 7.Drums
  • 8.Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)
  • 9.Feedback
  • 10.We Bid You Goodnight

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (vocals, harmonica, percussion); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass); Tom Constanten (organ); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (percussion).
Recorded live at the Fillmore East, New York, New York on February 11, 1969. Includes liner notes by Gary Lambert.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
On February 11th, 1969, Janis Joplin made her post-Big Brother & The Holding Company debut in New York. The opening band for this special occasion, her fellow San Francisco scenesters the Grateful Dead, had not yet ascended to the status of the Bay Area rock elite. By the end of the year, this would change, but on 2/11/69, the Dead were still an opening act for rock's reigning blues diva.
The early show's set displays singer/organist Pigpen's blues prowess, from the wailing come-ons of "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" and "King Bee," to a rough-around-the-edges reading of "Hey Jude." On the other hand, the late set is prime '69 Dead. "Dark Star" floats softly on Garcia's searching guitar lines. "The Eleven" rumbles like a sun-chariot spinning out of control of even its own wild rhythm, crashing into nearly five minutes of Hendrixian feedback before descending into the a capella gospel of "Bid You Good Night." The whole kit and caboodle ends with a ferocious (and unlisted) take on "Cosmic Charlie." It's the kind of set that made the Dead a legend in their own time, and the kind that only extends that legend decades down the road.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 107,581
  • UPC: 081227893828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)