Grateful Dead Fallout From The Phil Zone (2-CD)

Fallout From The Phil Zone (2-CD)
25 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $20.75 Limited Time Only
List Price: $23.99
You Save: $3.24 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359WJ
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

The Allman Brothers Band
  • The Allman Brothers Band Enlightened Rogues (CD)
  • The Allman Brothers Band
  • The Allman Brothers Band Legendary Hits (CD)
  • Gregg Allman / The Allman Brothers Band
  • Gregg Allman / The Allman Brothers Band Take 2 (CD)
  • CD Details

    • Number of Discs: 2
    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 2004
    • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

    Entertainment Reviews:

    Down Beat - 10/97, p.63
    3.5 stars (out of 5) - "...tireless jamming.... of its better concert performances."

    Tracks on Disc 1:

    • 1.Dancin' In The Streets
    • 2.New Speedway Boogie
    • 3.Viola Lee Blues
    • 4.Easy Wind
    • 5.Mason's Children
    • 6.Hard To Handle

    Tracks on Disc 2:

    • 1.The Music Never Stopped
    • 2.Jack-A-Roe
    • 3.In The Midnight Hour
    • 4.Visions Of Johanna
    • 5.Box Of Rain

    Product Description:

    FALLOUT FROM THE PHIL ZONE is a two-disc collection of live tracks compiled by Grateful Dead bassist Phil Lesh, primarily from the late 1960s and early 1970s.
    Grateful Dead includes: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (vocals, harmonica, organ); Brent Mydland, Vince Welnick (vocals, keyboards); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass); Donna Godchaux (vocals); Keith Godchaux (keyboards); Bill Kreutzmann, Mickey Hart (drums, percussion).
    Engineers include: Owsley Stanley, Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor-Jackson.
    Recorded live between 1969 and 1995. Includes liner notes by Phil Lesh.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
    While the Grateful Dead may have always claimed to be a band of musical equals--a truth in theory only--Deadheads regard bassist Phil Lesh as the second biggest cat in the jungle. After all, within the band's hierarchy of improvisers, only guitarist Jerry Garcia could affect the music's path with more vigor, confidence and psychological power. Lesh's hippie-jazz anything-goes spirit, such a large component of his playing, can also be spotted on this collection of live Dead nuggets compiled by the bassist, and spanning the band's thirty-year existence.
    What you get is an extended sonic assault (a feedback-laden "Viola Lee Blues") coexisting with an electric R&B romp (Pigpen & Garcia roaring through Otis Redding's "Hard To Handle"), and timeless Dead garage-noodling (a half-hour's worth of "Midnight Hour" from the same 1967 show whose own "Viola Lee Blues" bore the first seeds of "Dark Star") beside mournful Garcia readings of folk songs old (the traditional "Jack A Roe") and new (Dylan's "Visions of Johanna"). PHIL ZONE sounds like Lesh's own family album of recordings, attempting to show the entire clan on two discs.

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 25 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

    Similar Products

    Music Categories:
    Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

    Product Info

    • UPC: 081227893729
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 2 items

    Top ranking CD:

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)