X Beyond And Back: The X Anthology (2-CD)

Beyond And Back: The X Anthology (2-CD)
22 ratings
Price: $17.06
List Price: $18.96
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359VW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 12/12/97, p.90
"...The sour beauty of John Doe and Exene Cervenka's harmonies seeps through even the badly recorded demos and live cuts....their earliest work...best transcended punk itself in its harsh passion and eloquent soul-searching." - Rating: A-
Musician - 2/98, p.90
"...BEYOND & BACK sounds surprisingly cohesive, a well-thought-out mix of live versions, LP tracks, demos, and a few completely unreleased tracks....Doe's vignette-style writing, and the duo's instinctual, unerring knack for melody and reality thrive without studio sweetening..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Los Angeles
  • 2.The World's A Mess: It's In My Kiss
  • 3.Yr Ignition
  • 4.Year One
  • 5.Hungry Wolf
  • 6.We're Desperate
  • 7.Beyond And Back
  • 8.Back 2 The Base
  • 9.Blue Spark
  • 10.Some Other Time
  • 11.Sex And Dying In High Society
  • 12.Motel Room In My Bed
  • 13.Heater
  • 14.The Once Over Twice
  • 15.Because I Do
  • 16.In This House That I Call Home
  • 17.Soul Kitchen
  • 18.Universal Corner
  • 19.Delta 88
  • 20.Real Child Of Hell
  • 21.I'm Coming Over
  • 22.White Girl
  • 23.Nausea
  • 24.Johnny Hit And Run Paulene
  • 25.Your Phone's Off The Hook, But You're Not
  • 26.Riding With Mary
  • 27.(untitled)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The New World
  • 2.Breathless
  • 3.Poor Girl
  • 4.What's Wrong With Me
  • 5.How I (Learned My Lesson)
  • 6.The Have Nots
  • 7.Someone Like You
  • 8.The Stage
  • 9.See How We Are
  • 10.Surprise Surprise
  • 11.4th Of July
  • 12.Arms For Hostages / Country At War
  • 13.Wild Thing
  • 14.Burning House Of Love
  • 15.Devil Doll
  • 16.True Love
  • 17.Call Of The Wreckin' Ball
  • 18.In The Time It Takes
  • 19.I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
  • 20.(untitled)

Product Description:

BEYOND AND BACK is a 2-CD compilation of previously unissued and hard-to-find X tracks.
X includes: Exene Cervenka, John Doe, Billy Zoom, Dave Alvin, Tony Gilkyson, D.J. Bonebrake.
Producers include: X, Michael Wagener, Don Gilmore, Dave Jerden, John Doe, Tony Berg.
Includes liner notes by Travis Dickerson.
More than a simple greatest hits, BEYOND AND BACK is a 2 CD-collection featuring plenty of unreleased material, live recordings (of varying quality) and examples of the various phases X has gone through over the course of their career. Although Exene Cervenka and John Doe's contributions continually stand out, much of X's spark came from Billy Zoom's powerful rockabilly riffs ("The World's A Mess; It's In My Kiss") and DJ Bonebrake's pounding percussive style ("Hungry Wolf"). As time passed and X's primal sound evolved, their music reflected more of a populist slant. This philosophical exploration manifested itself in both their country alter-ego The Knitters (represented by "Someone Like You" and "Call Of The Wreckin' Ball") and later material that leaned more towards Woody Guthrie than Sid Vicious ("See How We Are," "4th Of July").
Doe and Cervenka's personal relationship eventually foundered back in the mid-80's. Their musical collaboration, however, remained fresh right up until X's last album, 1994's live UNCLOGGED. The inclusion of "Burning House Of Love" from that record makes the case for X's collaborative core being punk's answer to George Jones and Tammy Wynette.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for X

Product Info

  • UPC: 075596210324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)