X The Best: Make The Music Go Bang (2-CD, Digipak)

The Best: Make The Music Go Bang (2-CD, Digipak)
11 ratings
Price: $17.06
List Price: $18.96
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  33KJ6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 27, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.127
5 stars out of 5 - "[M]aking the case to even the most casual listener that X were, except perhaps The Ramones, the most vital band of their era."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Adult Books
  • 2.We're Desperate
  • 3.Los Angeles
  • 4.Your Phone's Off The Hook, But You're Not
  • 5.Johnny Hit And Run Paulene
  • 6.Soul Kitchen
  • 7.It's In My KissThe World's A Mess
  • 8.The Unheard Music
  • 9.White Girl
  • 10.The Once Over Twice
  • 11.Universal Corner
  • 12.Some Other Time
  • 13.In This House That I Call Home
  • 14.Beyond And Back
  • 15.Riding With Mary
  • 16.The Hungry Wolf
  • 17.Motel Room In My Bed
  • 18.Blue Spark
  • 19.The Have Nots
  • 20.Under The Big Black Sun
  • 21.The New World
  • 22.Breathless
  • 23.We're Having Much More Fun
  • 24.True Love
  • 25.I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Wild Thing
  • 2.Poor Girl
  • 3.The Call Of The Wreckin' Ball
  • 4.Someone Like You
  • 5.What's Wrong With Me...
  • 6.Burning House Of Love
  • 7.My Goodness
  • 8.4th Of July
  • 9.You
  • 10.When It Rains...
  • 11.Surprise Surprise
  • 12.I'm Lost
  • 13.See How We Are
  • 14.Skin Deep Town
  • 15.Around My Heart
  • 16.Just Another Perfect Day
  • 17.Devil Doll
  • 18.Big Blue House
  • 19.Clean Like Tomorrow
  • 20.Country At War
  • 21.New LIfe

Product Description:

X: John Doe (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass instrument); Exene Cervenka (vocals); Dave Alvin (guitar, 6-string bass); Tony Gilkyson (guitar, background vocals); Billy Zoom (guitar).
Rhino's double-disc compilation MAKE THE MUSIC GO BANG! does justice to representing X, arguably the best American "punk" band ever. The compilation begins in 1978 with early single versions of "Adult Books" and "We're Desperate;" the songs have a stripped-down, New Wave feel, but are characterized by John Doe's superb songwriting and his mesmerizing, angular harmonies with lead singer Exene Cervenka. The set then rips into six barn-burning cuts from the group's landmark debut, LOS ANGELES. Those yet to be electrified by Billy Zoom's high-octane guitar on that album's title track or on "Johnny Hit and Run Pauline" should embrace the opportunity.
The unsettling, minor-key pop of "White Girl" kicks off tracks from WILD GIFT and UNDER THE BIG BLACK SUN (including the razor-edged, lovely "Blue Spark"). The second disc follows X's chronology through the mid-'80s and into the early '90s, when its sound grew to incorporate more overt elements of country, roots rock, hard rock, and rockabilly, with no diminishment in overall musical intelligence, energy, and integrity. True fans will need the individual albums, but as an overview of this brilliant band, and as a one-stop collection of some of its best material, MAKE THE MUSIC GO BANG! is hard to rival.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for X

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227891923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)