Grateful Dead Truckin' Up To Buffalo, July 4 1989 (2-CD)

Truckin' Up To Buffalo, July 4 1989 (2-CD)
20 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359SX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 12, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bertha
  • 2.Greatest Story Ever Told
  • 3.Cold Rain And Snow
  • 4.Walkin' Blues
  • 5.Row Jimmy
  • 6.When I Paint My Masterpiece
  • 7.Stagger Lee
  • 8.Looks Like Rain
  • 9.Deal
  • 10.Touch Of Grey
  • 11.Man Smart, Woman Smarter

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ship Of Fools
  • 2.Playing In The Band
  • 3.Terrapin Station
  • 4.Drums
  • 5.Space
  • 6.I Will Take You Home
  • 7.All Along The Watchtower
  • 8.Morning Dew
  • 9.Not Fade Away
  • 10.U.S. Blues

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Bob Weir (guitar); Phil Lesh (bass guitar); Jerry Garcia, Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann, Brent Mydland.
Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); Brent Mydland (vocals, keyboards); Phil Lesh (vocals, electric bass); Bob Weir (vocals); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
Audio Mixer: Jeffrey Norman.
Liner Note Author: Blair Jackson.
Recording information: Rich Stadium, Orchard Park, NY (07/04/1989).
All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
Photographers: Susana Millman; Robert Minkin.
Arrangers: Bob Weir; Grateful Dead.
Among discerning Deadheads, 1989 is not generally considered one of the band's best years; in the wake of their massive success with 1987's IN THE DARK, torpor had begun to set in, and the band's legendary live
sparks seemed more elusive. Nevertheless, the Dead were famed for the anything-can-happen ethos of their live shows, and it just so happened that on Independence Day of '89 they were undeniably on fire.
Jerry Garcia is bursting with the energy of a man half his age, as he
belts out his vocals authoritatively and delivers stinging guitar bursts that are at once concise and expository. Bob Weir, notorious for showing more reckless gusto than precision, is as spot-on as he is emotive. Brent Mydland's organ, often relegated to the shadows, frequently emerges to provide biting commentary on the proceedings. The ensemble as a whole displays a kind of group-mind, the achievement of which was always the ultimate goal for both the band and their undyingly loyal followers. Whether delivering their newer material ("Touch of Grey"), covering Dylan ("When I Paint My Masterpiece") and Buddy Holly ("Not Fade Away"), or revisiting their own classic tunes ("Ship of Fools," "Playing in the Band"), the Dead are at the top of their game on TRUCKIN' UP TO BUFFALO.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227313920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)