Dr. John Mos' Scocious: Anthology (2-CD)

Mos' Scocious: Anthology (2-CD)
9 ratings
Price: $42.29
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359RX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

Professor Longhair
  • Professor Longhair Mardi Gras In New Orleans (CD) ~ $5.97
  • CD Details

    • Number of Discs: 2
    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 1993
    • Label: Elektra / WEA

    Entertainment Reviews:

    Entertainment Weekly - 12/24/93, p.60
    "...there's no denying the influence of Dr. John [a.k.a. Mac Rebennack] and his voodoo soul on the rock pantheon of the '60s and '70s, nor his contribution to the New Orleans sound...when the good doctor cranks it up, the bon temps roll...." - Rating: B
    Musician - 3/94, p.91
    "...a one-man museum of New Orleans R&B...a wizardly conjurer of nouveau bayou funk..."

    Tracks on Disc 1:

    • 1.Bad Neighborhood
    • 2.Morgus The Magnificent
    • 3.Storm Warning
    • 4.Sahara
    • 5.Down The Road
    • 6.Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
    • 7.Mama Roux
    • 8.Jump Sturdy
    • 9.I Walk On Guilded Splinters
    • 10.Black Widow Spider
    • 11.Loop Garoo
    • 12.Wash, Mama, Wash
    • 13.Mardi Gras Day
    • 14.Familiar Reality
    • 15.Zu Zu Mamou
    • 16.Mess Around
    • 17.Somebody Changed The Lock

    Tracks on Disc 2:

    • 1.Iko Iko
    • 2.Junko Partner
    • 3.Tipitina
    • 4.Huey Smith Medley: High Blood Pressure / Don't You Just Know It / Well I'll Be John Brown
    • 5.Right Place Wrong Time
    • 6.Traveling Mood
    • 7.Life
    • 8.Such A Night
    • 9.I Been Hoodood
    • 10.Cold Cold Cold
    • 11.Quitters Never Win
    • 12.What Comes Around (Goes Around)
    • 13.Mos' Scocious
    • 14.Let's Make A Better World
    • 15.Back By The River
    • 16.I Wanna Rock
    • 17.Memories Of Prof. Longhair
    • 18.Honey Dripper
    • 19.Pretty Libby
    • 20.Makin' Whoopee!
    • 21.Accentuate The Positive
    • 22.More Than You Know

    Product Description:

    Full Title: Mos' Scocious: The Dr. John Anthology.
    Personnel includes: Mac "Dr. John" Rebennack (vocals, guitar, piano); Jerry Byrne, Roland LeBlanc (vocals); Ernest McLean (guitar, mandolin); Steve Mann (guitar, banjo); Lonnie Boulden (flute); Leonard James (saxophone); Melvin Lastie (trumpet); Frank Fields, Earl Stanley (bass); Paul Staehle, John Boudreaux (drums); Mo Pedido (congas); Richard "Didimus" Washington (percussion); Dave Dixon, Jesse Hill (percussion, background vocals); Shirley Goodman, Joni Jonz, Tami Lynn, Sonny Ray Durdon (background vocals); Cold Grits.
    Additional guest artists: Ronnie Barron (vocals, percussion); Steve "Deacon" Hunter (guitar, background vocals); Harold Battiste (clarinet, bass, percussion); Gary Brown (acoustic & electric saxophones); Mark Colby (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Plas Johnson, Lee Allen (saxophone); Abe Laboriel (bass); Jeff Porcaro (drums); Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Doris Troy, P.P. Arnold (background vocals).
    Producers include: Harold Battiste, Tom Dowd, Dr. John, Charles Greene, Jerry Wexler.
    Compilation producer: James Austin.
    Includes liner notes by Jeff Hannusch.
    Personnel: Dr. John (vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion); Ronnie Barron (vocals, percussion, background vocals); Frankie Ford, Ken Elliot, Rickie Lee Jones (vocals); Steve Mann (guitar, banjo); Ernest McLean (guitar, mandolin); Allen Toussaint (guitar, keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Alvin Robinson (guitar, percussion, background vocals); Steve Hunter (guitar, background vocals); David Spinozza, Ken Klimak, Leo Nocentelli (guitar); Eric Clapton (slide guitar); Kenneth Terroade (flute); Mark Colby (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Harold Battiste, Jr. (clarinet, percussion); Gary Brown (saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, electric saxophone); Morris Bechamin (saxophone, background vocals); Sidney George, Jerry Jumonville, Joel Peskin, Alvin "Red" Tyler, Plas Johnson (saxophone); Whit Sidener (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Clifford Solomon, Ernie Watts, Lee Allen (tenor saxophone); Leroy Cooper (baritone saxophone); Kenneth Faulk (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ed Hoerner, Warren Luening (trumpet); Melvin Lastie (cornet); Peter Graves (trombone, euphonium); Chauncey Welsch (trombone); Ray Draper (tuba, percussion, background vocals); Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns, Mac Rebennack (piano); Arthur "Red" Neville (organ); Larry Williams (synthesizer); Steve York (acoustic bass); Harvey Mason, Sr. , Charles "Hungry" Williams , Jeff Porcaro, Johnny Badanjek, John Boudreaux, Ziggy Modeliste (drums); Bobby Torres (congas); Dave Dixon (percussion, background vocals); Freeman Brown, Jesse Boyce, Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Joni Jonz, Al Teller, Doris Troy, George Tutko, Shirley Goodman, David Hines , Mick Jagger, P.P. Arnold, Roy Silver, Robbie Montgomery, Bruce Robb (background vocals).
    Audio Remasterer: Bill Inglot.
    Liner Note Author: Jeff Hannusch.
    Ensembles: The Creolettes; The Meters.
    Unknown Contributor Role: Cold Grits.
    Arrangers: Harold Battiste, Jr.; Marty Paich; Ralph Burns; Bob Ezrin.
    This two-disc set spans over 30 years of music by New Orleans' own Mac Rebennack, a.k.a. Dr. John. The earliest songs date from the '50s, when, as a teenager, he'd already made a name for himself as a guitarist. Studio work gave him inside glimpses of the working methods of Huey Smith, Allen Toussaint, Dave Bartholomew, and others. Drawing on the rich heritage of his hometown, he was already penning songs before he turned 20. Professor Longhair's influence can be heard in Rebennack's piano playing, as well as in his own contemporary's, James Booker. Rebennack had more than a dozen years of experience under his belt when he first successfully "emerged" as Dr. John in the late '60s. His colorfully festooned stage shows carried him well into the '70s, after which he turned out some stellar solo piano works (DR. JOHN PLAYS MAC REBENNACK, THE BRIGHTEST SMILE IN TOWN), fine New Orleans funk (TELEVISION) and even some standards (IN A SENTIMENTAL MOOD). All of the above are well represented on this essential collection.

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 9 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
    Get Email Alerts for Dr. John

    Product Info

    • UPC: 081227145026
    • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 2 items

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)