Grateful Dead Rockin' The Rhein With The Grateful Dead (3-CD, Digipak)

Rockin' The Rhein With The Grateful Dead (3-CD,
Rating 4.5
29 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  GRDW 78921
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: May 24, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.180
3 stars out of 5 - "In Dead lore, it's notable primarily for a forty-four-minute 'Dark Star suite..."
Dirty Linen - p.85
"[The album] captures the 1972 Grateful Dead on a very good night and, thanks to 16-track master recordings and fine mixing by Jeffrey Norman, in spectacular audio quality."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.110
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he set offers superb sound and enough bright moments to make it a welcome addition to the band's live canon."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Truckin'
  • 2.Tennessee Jed
  • 3.Chinatown Shuffle
  • 4.Black-Throated Wind
  • 5.China Cat Sunflower
  • 6.I Know You Rider
  • 7.Mr. Charlie
  • 8.Beat It On Down The Line
  • 9.Loser
  • 10.Playing In The Band
  • 11.Next Time You See Me
  • 12.Me And Bobby McGee

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Good Lovin'
  • 2.Casey Jones
  • 3.He's Gone
  • 4.Hurts Me Too
  • 5.El Paso
  • 6.Turn On Your Lovelight
  • 7.The Stranger (Two Souls In Communion)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Dark Star
  • 2.Me And My Uncle
  • 3.Dark Star
  • 4.Wharf Rat
  • 5.Sugar Magnolia
  • 6.Not Fade Away
  • 7.Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  • 8.Not Fade Away
  • 9.One More Saturday Night

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Bob Weir (guitar); Phil Lesh (bass guitar); Donna Jean Godchaux, Jerry Garcia, Keith Godchaux, Ron "Pigpen" McKernan, Bill Kreutzmann.
Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (vocals, harmonica, organ, percussion); Phil Lesh (vocals, electric bass); Donna Jean Godchaux, Bob Weir (vocals); Keith Godchaux (piano); Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
Audio Mixer: Jeffrey Norman.
Recording information: Rheinhalle, Dusseldorf, Germany (04/24/1972/05/24/1972); The Lyceum, London, England (04/24/1972/05/24/1972).
The Grateful Dead's 1972 European tour marked the end of an era for the band. It was their last outing with founding member Ron "Pigpen" McKernan, who was the bluesy soul force of the group. Sadly, he would drink himself to death less than a year after the concert captured on this 3-disc set. Unlike EUROPE '72, a tour sampler notoriously overdubbed after the fact, ROCKIN' THE RHEIN offers a full show, warts and all, which is really the only way to experience the Dead's magical spontaneity. Pianist Keith Godchaux had already come aboard to fill out the sound, and his jazzy piano inspires the extended jams on "Playing in the Band" and legendary improv-epic "Dark Star."
Pigpen's gritty, gutter-rat blues are still present, though, as on his own "Chinatown Shuffle" (which never made it to the studio) and the classic Elmore James slow blues "Hurts Me Too." Even though alcohol had already begun taking its toll on Pigpen, his soul-man dominance of extended R&B rave-ups "Good Lovin'" and "Turn on Your Lovelight" (a bonus track from a London concert a month later) shows just what the band lost when he passed away. The Dead would never have another fiery frontman like Pigpen.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info:

  • UPC: 081227892128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.36/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items